Skip to content

Holy Hump Day, Batman!

April 1, 2009

Wow. It’s 5:00 already? Where did the day go? I haven’t given an ounce of thought as to what I should blog about, actually. It’s been a busy bee day here at work (always a good thing in my book!).

Here are a couple of mid-week bullets to tide you until tomorrow’s Twitter Thursday (which will be pretty awesome, if I may say so):

  • Rachael Lewinson, National Manager of Online Communications, emailed me earlier this afternoon letting me know that the Diabetes Scholarship Foundation is now accepting applications for student scholarships. There were no college scholarships for diabetics when I was graduating from high school (waaaay back in 2003!), so it’s pretty exciting to see that this is an opportunity for our young academics. Here are the deets:

    The Diabetes Scholars Foundation is offering college scholarships to students with Type 1 Diabetes. The deadline to apply is May 15, 2009. The scholarship is open to incoming freshmen with Type 1 for the upcoming 2009-2010 academic year. Last year, a total of eighteen $5,000 college scholarships were awarded. Up to fifteen $5,000 scholarships will be awarded for the coming school year. To read more and download the 2009 application, go to www.diabetesscholars.org.

    Sa-weet!

  • Mary Tyler Moore recently launched a new book about living with diabetes. You may have read something about it. If you’re in the NYC area (like me!), you have the opportunity to check MTM out at a couple of appearances. First, she’s making an appearance at the 92Y tomorrow night at 8pm, where she’ll be discussing her life, the book with a book signing afterward. I’ve already purchased my ticket for the low low price of $27 (plus $2 for the “service charge” whatever that means). Or you can come on down to Mary’s book signing at the Union Square Barnes and Nobles at 7pm next Tuesday, April 7. I won’t make it to that one, as I would arrive late due to work – plus, I already have scheduled my last training session at the gym!
  • Speaking of the gym, last night, I went to the gym and I biked 8 miles. OK, it was on a low setting and wasn’t all that hard, but I’m a sludge potato and really out shape (still…). With heading to Erik’s tonight, Mary’s appearance tomorrow and an event on Friday…. who knows when I’ll go ahead? Probably Saturday. And definitely Sunday. Gah. I really should go to the gym in the morning. Too bad I’m not a morning person.
  • So if I haven’t given you ENOUGH things to think about doing – whew! – here’s another one: SM4SC… what’s that you say? Social Media 4 Social Change, that’s what! It’s a cool new event that started in Boston and now making it’s way to the Big Apple this Friday, April 3 (please don’t kick me out for saying “Big Apple”). We’re helping a good cause and having a good time too! I was the FIRST PERSON to buy tickets (so says co-organizer @mknell), so I’ll definitely be there. If you’re around, please come and say hi!
  • And if that wasn’t enough…. haha, April Fool’s! I’m out.
  • Comments are closed.