Skip to content

Lucky Guess.

March 25, 2009

Last night, after Erik and I saw Bloc Party at Terminal 5, I grabbed my glucose meter out of my purse so I could test my blood sugar.

As I pricked my finger, Erik said, “Let’s make it a game and guess what you are!”

Oh boy…

“I think you’re 180,” Erik said. “I see that number a lot. Not that that has anything to do with anything.” See, he’s learning.

I contemplated what my blood sugars had been lately (220 mg/dl at dinner), what I had eaten (Wendy’s chicken sandwich and fries, followed by a veggie empanada at Terminal 5) and how I “felt” (which we all know means nothing).

“Uh… 260…” I guessed. I figured I was high. I ate food I liked which is a pretty good predictor of a not-so-happy number! But I didn’t really know. I didn’t feel particularly high. I wasn’t thirsty or crabby.

5…

4…

3…

2…

1…

259 mg/d.

Erik’s mouth dropped open. I giggled.

“It was a lucky guess,” I claimed. It’s not like I have a special glucose meter in my brain.

“You need to blog about this,” he said.

So I did.

7 Comments
  1. March 25, 2009 2:02 PM

    Funny. Riley has an uncanny ability to “predict” what his sugar will be. He is usually within 20-30 points which I think is pretty good. I, however, am always way off.

  2. March 25, 2009 2:19 PM

    And I thought we were the only ones weird enough to play that game… “What do you think his # is?”.

  3. Autumn permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:32 PM

    Ah, just wait for the days when he’ll want you to test because you’re acting strange and you don’t want to because you know he’s right and you need to check.
    My hubby is great about guessing when I’m low. He’s got a harder time with highs.

  4. March 25, 2009 3:07 PM

    @Penny: I’m usually okay. Not great. Usually in the ballpark though.

    @Jennifer: Haha. I’ve been playing the guessing game for years. It’s fun!

    @Autumn: I don’t think anyone would have to fight me… I feel awful when I’m both high and low, so I willingly test so I can fix it.

  5. Arielle permalink
    March 25, 2009 5:50 PM

    That’s so funny, because literally the exact same thing happened to me the other night before bed.

    Me: Guess what my blood sugar will be.
    My husband: I’ll say 80.
    Me: No, there’s no way it’s that low, I think it will be 160.

    Test result: 159.

  6. March 25, 2009 6:17 PM

    @Arielle: Way cool! And our numbers were almost the same too!

  7. March 26, 2009 12:51 AM

    Ha! That made me chuckle! I could totally picture his face. 🙂

Comments are closed.