Skip to content

Kicking It Off!

March 24, 2009

Over the past couple of months, I’ve started my training for the Ride to Cure Diabetes by visiting the gym more regularly and signing up for a personal trainer. While physically I haven’t made much change (I’ve lost a couple of pounds, but nothing major), my overall outlook of exercising is starting to change. Now that the weather is getting nicer, and exercise will be possible both in and out of the gym (oh I loathe being in a gym), I’m getting ready to move into a more intermediate phase of my training. I only have five months to get ready, so the pressure’s on!

At the same time, I also have to start with the other facet of prepping for the Ride to Cure Diabetes – the fundraising.

Fundraising is scary, and fundraising during a recession is downright terrifying. I made my goal $4,000, and while that might be a heady goal for someone who has never raised more than $2,000, I figure if I start early, I can do it!

My request for all my friends, family, colleagues, regular readers, one-time drop-ins and lurkers, is that you would donate ten dollars to cure diabetes. Ten bucks! That’s it! That’s, like, two Starbucks Mochas or a ticket to see a movie. It’s just a bit more than a combo meal at Burger King. It’s pretty affordable, if you think about it. If I have everyone I know donates $10 – at the minimum, of course, if you want to donate more I certainly won’t stop you – then I can definitely reach my goal!

You can donate online here, or email me for a mailing address. This definitely won’t be the last time I’ll post about fundraising for the JDRF Ride to Cure Diabetes, but I’ll try not to be too annoying about it.

If you’re a regular reader of Lemonade Life, I don’t have to tell you why a cure for diabetes is important. But if you’re a little unfamiliar with the organization where this money is going to, I encourage you to visit the JDRF website.

Leave a comment if you have any questions!

Comments are closed.