Skip to content

I am in love with Rita.

March 16, 2009

rita1

I have an obsession.

It’s a sweet, tasty obsession, perfect for the upcoming sweltering summer season.

It’s Rita’s water ice. And I am in love.

I first had Rita’s water ice when I came to visit my friend D in Philadelphia during the summer after my freshman year in college. I had never had it before, and it’s hard to describe to people who have never had it. A lot of people describe it as being like a 7-11 slurpee, but slurpee’s have thicker ice crystals and you drink it through a straw. Water ice, on the other hand, is much smoother, almost like ice cream, and you eat it with a spoon. However, water ice does not have any cream in it, so it’s not gelato or ice cream.

After debating with many people about what water ice actually, I finally asked the store manager of the Hoboken location last summer. He told me that they flavor the water and then freeze it, but because it has so much sugar in it, it doesn’t freeze completely. Then they chop it up into microfine bits. I guess with slurpees they make the ice part and then add they syrup, so that’s why water ice sometimes has a thicker consistency to it.

My all-time favorite flavor is Mango. But I also like Lemonade, Strawberry and Cherry. While I usually eat the regular flavors – which have a TON of sugar – they also have a wide variety of sugar-free flavors for the more carb-conscious PWD.

Rita’s is only available on the East Coast, and it’s basically why I moved here. Okay, not really. But it would be a pretty funny reason! I think a couple of the southern states, like Texas, have it too. On Friday, March 20, they are going to have a special first day of spring celebration, giving out free water ice. You can get more info about that on their website, and you can find the location nearest you here.

Once you go Rita’s, you’ll never go back.

(P.S. Rita’s did not ask or pay me to write about them. This is pure, unadulterated love, folks).

4 Comments
  1. March 16, 2009 1:35 PM

    I’ve been on the first day of spring, and the line was long – as you can probably imagine. I don’t think I got any though – I was just taking a teenage client who has a Rita’s fetish. I’m more of an ice cream girl myself, but Jason likes water ice, so I sample his. We live within walking distance from the Water Ice Factory though, which rumor has it is better than Rita’s. I’m not a water ice connoisseur though so I can’t say either way. If you ever make it down to my house, and the weather is warm, we can go and you can compare🙂

  2. March 16, 2009 4:40 PM

    I’m more of a Raspberry Lemonade girl, but I share your love of Rita’s. Lots of summer memories have been made sitting at the parking lot picnic tables of my local Rita’s. I’m looking forward to Friday as well.

  3. March 22, 2009 1:52 AM

    I was at Rita’s once in my life and they were out of all their sugar free flavors. It’s been six months and I haven’t gotten over the disappointment since…😉
    Next time I go back to that area I will try again-just cuz you say so!

  4. March 23, 2009 8:39 PM

    I missed free Rita’s day because I was in the Bahamas. It was a very sad thing for me. But then I went to the beach and got over it. I hope you enjoyed it though!

Comments are closed.