Skip to content

Twitter Thursday: Snackyness of the Nutty Kind.

March 12, 2009

Yesterday was the 2-week mark of me giving up chocolate for Lent.

So far, so good.

Thought it has not been without it’s difficulties! In fact, Monday night I had the weirdest dream in which I ate a chocolate bar (not sure which brand, it was just chocolate to me), proceeded to have a PANIC ATTACK (I think I may have even cried in the dream, having totally ruined my chance at succeeding at Lent) then realized in my dream I was dreaming (a dream within a dream) and DID NOT in fact have aforementioned chocolate bar, and then moved on to the next phase of the dream. In fact, even when I’m awake, I occasionally think, “Have I had chocolate this week? Am I sure I didn’t have chocolate? Is it possible I’m suffering temporary amnesia or blocking it out or…”

Yes, I get a bit anxious when I have to avoid something for a period of time. Needless to say, this is definitely testing my willpower and my subconscious certainly isn’t making it any easier for me!

naturevalley
For awhile, I had grown accustomed to grabbing a pack of peanut M & Ms or Reese’s Peanut Butter cups from the vending machine as a mid-afternoon snack. Normally I eat a big enough lunch that I’m not hungry, but lately I’ve been getting cravings for something, so I head to vending machine and Oh look! Chocolate! Yoink! Not so good. When I gave up chocolate (sigh) for Lent, I started getting Nature Valley granola bars from the vending machines. But those babies are 85 cents a pop. That’s 5 bucks a week. A box of granola bars are only $3.50. So why not get a box? But now I’m like “Can I really eat an Nature Valley granola bar everyday for the rest of Lent?” What’s more, when I’m done with Lent, do I really think it’s a good idea to go back eating chocolate for an afternoon snack? Yes! Of course not. That would be irresponsible and unhealthy.

I decided to reach out to my Twitter community for help on what kind of tasty snackyness I can indulge myself with during my afternoon snack sessions. Of course, since I was talking about, the masses came out of the woodwork and I had a HUGE response. If you missed out, leave your comment down below. Make sure you don’t miss another exciting edition of Allison’s Twitter Poll OTW (of the week) by following me at @amblass.

twitterthursday312

As you can see, there is a ridiculous prominence of nuts – the food, not the people! Walnuts, peanuts, macadamia nuts. Fruit also seems to be a favorite, and Lord knows I don’t eat enough of that food group!

What kinds of snacks do you eat?

6 Comments
  1. Sweeter permalink
    March 12, 2009 2:17 PM

    It would be awful to have diabetes AND a nut allergy.

    • March 12, 2009 2:36 PM

      OMG, that’s so true! I didn’t even think about that… especially since I love adore peanut butter THIS MUCH! I feel the same way about type 1s who have celiac disease. I just want to hug them.

  2. Erik permalink
    March 12, 2009 3:04 PM

    Hey Babe (can I call you that on here?), I think the advise on nuts is good. I’m not sure if they have high fiber content or not, but they are supposed to curb cravings, despite their small size. Lots o’ calories and good fat in a little space. That’s all🙂

  3. March 12, 2009 5:35 PM

    Awww @ Erik🙂

    Allison, You got some really great ideas on Twitter! I grabbed a few of the ideas for Kacey🙂 Right now, her fav “snacky” thing is a mix of popcorn, nuts & sunflower seeds. I usually give her 1 cup in a baggie and she will snack on it while watching TV. She also loves the mini rice cakes in the small packs. There is one called Caramel Drizzle and it’s just enough “sweet” to curve the sugar bug😉 once you get off your chocolate ban there is another one that is Mint Chocolate and those are great too🙂 Then like alot of other mentioned…cheese! When Kacey is feeling hungry she will grab 2 cheese sticks🙂 She knows those are good and she doesn’t need a shot for them so they are great for mid-morning snacks at school as well! Great post!🙂

  4. Corri permalink
    March 18, 2009 5:28 PM

    Kettle Corn. Have you ever made it before? Just a little melted sugar goes a long way with popcorn.

    But mostly I just wanted to say hello. I’m glad to see that you are doing well.🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Thursday – The Verdict? Guilty! « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.