Skip to content

Honestly, I Swear.

March 11, 2009

Ashley D at Turquoise Ribbons bestowed the Honor Scrap award on me today. On Ashley’s blog, it states: The Honest Scrap award comes with a caveat or 2. Firstly you have to tell your readers 10 things about you they may not know, but that are true. Secondly you have to tag 10 people with the award.
honest-scrap
So here are 10 random, yet true things about me. I’m pretty sure I’m going to eventually run out of things to write on these memes. Between blogging regularly and all these “tell us something we don’t know!” memes, there’s not going to be much left!

1. I don’t wash my hair everyday. Sometimes I like to sleep instead.
2. The “M” in amblass stands for Michelle.
3. I prefer my high school years to my college years.
4. I met my first Internet friend in real life when I was 13. Trust me, I am a trained professional.
5. I don’t really like eating breakfast and would skip it if my stomach didn’t come roaring at me at 11:00 a.m. everyday.
6. My younger brother and my boyfriend technically have the same name. Only difference is spelling. My brother’s name is Eric and my boyfriend’s name is Erik.
7. No, I am not that weirded out by it. Though I have no idea what will happen when they are in the same room come August.
8. A goal in life is to visit all the States in the Union. So far, I’m at 17. If you have a free bed, hit me up! (see #4).
9. Sometimes I regret starting a diabetes blog because I feel like it means I have to write about diabetes ALL THE TIME and sometimes I think writing about diabetes is REALLY FREAKING BORING.
10. I hate the rain. I know I’m from Oregon, but still. It’s ugly, it’s cold and it’s stops you from doing what.

Now I have to tag 10 people!
1. Courtney at Ride to Remedy
2. Teresa at Won’t Beetus
3. Chris at A Consequence of Hypoglycemia
4. Windy at The Diabetic Domestic Diva
5. Lee Ann at The Butter Compartment
6. Alyssa at Woodland Creatures
7. Julia at Major Bedhead
8. Rachel at What Life Has Become
9. Chris at The Big D
10. Stanford Wife at Stanford Wife
you want

13 Comments
  1. March 11, 2009 12:56 PM

    Great list!🙂 I’d love to visit every state too.

  2. March 11, 2009 1:13 PM

    I love learning new things about people!!

    I don’t wash my hair everyday either. Who does???

    I feel the same way about diabetes blogging sometimes, i think ‘how much more can we even have to say about diabetes??’ But we always do!!

  3. March 11, 2009 4:31 PM

    The subtitle of your blog is “the journey of a bicoastal twentysomething living with type 1 diabetes.” so maybe it is about where life both does and does not intersect with diabetes.

    Today I thought to myself ‘Hmmm, should I be writing about Stanford more?’ and then I thought ‘Eh, everything that’s happening in my life right now is Stanford-related. That’s good enough.’

    • March 11, 2009 4:35 PM

      Oh, I definitely write about non-diabetes related things. I have whole posts about non-diabetes stuff. But the majority of the posts are still diabetes-geared, mostly because my audience is so diabetes-geared because I feel like that’s what they expect. Of course, as a blogger, you create your own reality so the whole train of thought is silly, but that’s still the point I’m stuck at.

  4. March 11, 2009 7:29 PM

    Have you hit Alaska yet? You’ve got a place to stay if you ever want to visit the capital of the 49th state!

    • March 12, 2009 10:56 AM

      I have not been to Alaska and I will TOTALLY send you an email if I ever make it out there. Could be awhile but it’s always a possibility for this fellow PNWer.

  5. March 11, 2009 8:39 PM

    I don’t think you should feel limited to just writing about diabetes. I think it’s better to get glimpses into the non-D aspects of D-bloggers’ lives. Geez, the amount of time I’ve been blogging is nothing compared to you, and there are days I feel like I’ve run out of things to say about it!

    I’m getting to work on my list🙂

  6. March 12, 2009 9:32 AM

    Thanks, Allison. I am notoriously bad about doing these things, but I am so stuck for blog fodder that this couldn’t have come at a better time.

    And I hear you about writing about diabetes. It’s why I haven’t written anything for dLife in a while.

    • March 12, 2009 10:58 AM

      That is PRECISELY why I picked you actually. I remembered you posting about not knowing what to post about so I thought, Julia would like this. And then I thought, Well… maybe… Haha.

      Yeah, writing about the D all the time is tough. I don’t know how people who write about it all the time do it. I’m like “SAME SHIT, DIFFERENT DAY.” LOL. Sigh.

  7. March 12, 2009 5:43 PM

    My mom’s sister and my dad have the same name. When we’re together it’s He Gayle and She Gail.

    • March 12, 2009 7:46 PM

      Wow, that’s crazy! I’ve never heard of a man named Gayle before. Only heard it as a girl’s name. I think someone (Lee Ann maybe…) knows an Aaron and an Erin who are married. Now THAT is weird!

  8. March 18, 2009 5:49 PM

    Whoops!

    It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve been able to read blogs, and I missed your switch over! I will change the link and move on!!

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Policy « A Consequence of Hypoglycemia.

Comments are closed.