Skip to content

BREAKING NEWS: The Stem Cells are Back!

March 9, 2009

Eight and a half years after Bush placed a ban of funding for embryonic stem cell research, President Barack Obama lifted that ban.

The wonderful folks at JDRF were there to capture the moments, via Twitter and Flickr. VP of Government Relations Larry Soler tweeted that when he shook Obama’s hand, Obama said that we would get diabetes solved. Yes, yes we will.

I don’t have to tell you how exciting this is for all of us with diabetes. But this isn’t just a victory for people with diabetes. This will affect EVERYONE in America and across the world. Embryonic stem cells have the power to help dozens of diseases and injuries, and it’s quite possible that we will all be affected by this decision in more than one way. During the course of the election, Obama’s campaign motto was “Change We Can Believe In.” I believe the executive order to the embryonic stem cell funding ban is just the change we need to make a real difference in the medical research that so badly needs assistance.

While I hate to temper the enthusiasm for a day that I’m sure so many of us didn’t think would come, I can’t help but wonder, with the economy in the state that it is, just how much funding is embryonic stem cell research actually going to get from the federal government? Pomp and circumstance over the legal support of stem cell research funding does not necessarily equate to actual dollars. My only hope is that this action is not just words on a piece of paper, but action that we will see in laboratories across the country that will lead to a cure.

6 Comments
  1. Sara permalink
    March 9, 2009 8:38 PM

    Actually the stem cells were never gone. There were eight embyonic stem cells starter lines that were approved for federal funding all along. If the research they were doing had originated from one of those lines the researchers could get funding. This just opened it up to more lines.

    P.S. Did you know the video auto-plays when you visit the page?

  2. March 9, 2009 8:58 PM

    Sara: Yes, I know this. I just abbreviated the title to make it more snappy – guess snappiness led to misleading. Whoops… I actually wrote an extensive research paper on the embryonic stem cell debate during the months preceding the House and Senate votes to expand it, right before Bush vetoed it, so I know all about what this funding does and does not entail. To me, though, embryonic stem cells are back in the forefront of medical research, so in a sense, they are back. They are going to return to people’s conversations, to the drawing boards, everything. So in that sense, stem cells are back (although it is true that they never really, truly went away).

    And I didn’t know that the video played automatically. I’ve taken it down.

  3. March 9, 2009 11:20 PM

    Nice, Allison. I’m just wondering why you’re not getting plummeted by the naysayers like I am.
    🙂 AmyT

    • March 10, 2009 8:46 AM

      I have no idea why I’m not getting so many hate comments! I guess you’re just more popular and people think their rants will be read by more people if they comment on your blog!

  4. Sara permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:39 AM

    I figured you knew what you were talking about, but I didn’t want any new readers to get confused.

    And don’t you hate it when music and/or videos play automatically on blogs. It’s like, I know its YOUR favorite song, but that doesn’t mean I want to listen to it (esp. at work)!

    • March 10, 2009 8:52 AM

      Yes! One blog I read has a radio player on her blog that auto-starts and it drives me nuts! Basically why I keep my computer on mute all day, to prevent any “accidents.”

Comments are closed.