Skip to content

Just Keep Moving, Moving, Moving…

March 4, 2009

(the title is supposed to be said in “Dora from Finding Nemo” voice… “just keep swimming, swimming, swimming…”)

The other day when I was tweeting about how I didn’t know what to blog about, Courtney tweeted back that I hadn’t discussed much about my personal training or prepping for my big Ride this summer. Which is true, I haven’t. The other blog, Ride of My Lemonade Life, kinda fell to the wayside while I completely #95 on my 101 Things in 1,001 Days Challenge (booyah!). I had about a week between my trial pack of personal training sessions (3 sessions at 30 minutes each) to my full-fledged kick-butt sweat-inducing personal training sessions (5 sessions at 1 hour each). I didn’t really have that much to write about. Obviously, not much progress has been made on the old weight loss bit, but at least I’m slowly but surely getting back in the routine of working out and really making this a priority.

So far, I’ve had two full-fledged kick-butt sweat-inducing personal training sessions. And they’ve been HARD. I don’t enjoy working out. At all. Luckily my personal trainer, Timothy, is young and entertaining and likes to tell me stories while I work out. But it’s still aggravating to not be able to do what you want to do because you’re so completely out of shape. Which you would think MAYBE would motivate me to work harder, so I wouldn’t get that “This sucks, I suck, it all sucks” feeling. But instead it makes me want to crawl into bed and cry.

I have 3 more training sessions. One on Friday, and then 2 more next week. After that, I’m on my own, at least until the summer when I might possibly be able to afford more sessions (which may or may not happen, because, hello – Macbook!). In the next couple of months I’ll be purchasing a bike so that I can prepare for my Ride by actually, you know, riding. Could be helpful, no? I don’t know what kind of bike I want though. I grew up using a mountain bike, although I never ever went off-trail (eek! no trail! scary!), so I think having a regular road bike will be more practical. Any suggestions?

I also need to start thinking about the dread F word… FUNDRAISING. Eek! Asking people for money! Scary! I hate fundraising. Last year I only raised $1600 for the Walk to Cure Diabetes and this year I’m facing the recession so I’m really not sure how I’m going to manage to do it. Basically, I think I might have to resort to begging. And massive amounts Facebook messages. If you’re my Facebook friend, you have been warned.

One Comment
  1. March 4, 2009 8:26 PM

    I have a mountain bike (no shocks or anything, so almost a hybrid, really). I did the Tour de Cure with it 8 years ago and it was really really slow. This year, I’m going to do the ride again and while I don’t want to afford a road bike, I did replace the tires with much smoother ones. I can’t wait for warm enough weather to put them through their paces.

Comments are closed.