Skip to content

Twitter Thursday: Cinema-TASTIC!!

February 26, 2009

Yesterday, being Wednesday, is now my official “Twitter Poll” day, which means I ask a random question to my Twitter followers to see what they’ll say. Last week we chatted about what job we would like if we could do anything for just one day. This week, I asked what movie I should add to my Netflix queue. Erik and I are pretty fastidious about our movie-watching. We watch at least one, if not two, movies every weekend. They range from the existential (Adaptation, The Fall) to Westerns (Butch Cassidy, Appaloosa) to teen movies (Bend It Like Beckham) to Hollywood favorites (American Beauty).

Sadly, I didn’t get as many responses as I was hoping for, so hopefully ya’ll will chime in here in the comment section with some recommendations.

Here’s what came through via my Twitter stream: twitterthursday226

What is YOUR favorite movie that I should add to my Netflix queue?

(I like pretty much everything except horror)

7 Comments
  1. February 26, 2009 4:28 PM

    Wings of Desire. One of my all-time favorite movies. Drop Dead Gorgeous if you’re looking for something fluffier, but darkly funny.

  2. February 26, 2009 4:48 PM

    * Memento
    * Prize-Winner of Defiance, OH
    * Waitress
    * Sphere
    * The Prestige
    * Sliding Doors
    * Stage Beauty

    Just some of my faves!

  3. Sweeter permalink
    February 26, 2009 5:47 PM

    Cinema Paradiso

  4. Brittany permalink
    February 26, 2009 5:54 PM

    Kingdom of Heaven or Lucky # Slevin if you don’t mind a little violence. Also, an all-time fav, Annie.🙂

  5. February 26, 2009 5:57 PM

    I have about a million favorite movies. Obviously, any musical would do….
    Sound of Music
    Funny Face
    Hairspray
    Rent (the 2005 film)
    Rent Filmed Live on Broadway (new release)

    But I also like other stuff too. Try:
    Pieces of April (Katie Holmes, pre-Tom Cruise)
    St. Elmo’s Fire
    How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
    National Treasure

    And then there are the regular classics:
    When Harry Met Sally
    Beaches
    The Fast & the Furious

  6. February 27, 2009 10:37 AM

    Dear Frankie
    North & South
    you won’t be disappointed

  7. February 27, 2009 10:41 AM

    @Lora: I don’t think I’ve seen either of those – thanks for the suggestions!

    @Amalas: I’ve seen Memento and Waitress, haven’t seen the others. Will definitely look into!

    @Sweeter: Never heard of Cinema Paradiso. Will check it out!

    @Brittany: No, violence can be okay – sometimes – thanks for the suggestions!

    @Cara: Dude, you SENT me St. Elmo’s Fire. Of course I’ve seen it! LOL. I’ve seen quite a few of these, but I’ll check out Rent and would you believe I’ve never seen When Harry Met Sally?

    @Anne: North & South sounds really familiar… will take a look. Thanks!

Comments are closed.