Skip to content

Florida Folks, S’Mac and Diabetes Thrift Stores.

February 25, 2009

On Saturday morning, Erik and I hopped on a Metro North train and headed into Manhattan to meet up with one of the latest bloggers to come onto the scene, Ms. Layne, and her husband, Brad, who were visiting Manhattan on a four-day getaway from their home in Florida (who in their right mind would leave Florida to come to NYC in February is beyond me, but to each their own…)

It was wiiiiiiindy outside and very cold, so we braced ourselves as we made our way to S’Mac, a mac-and-cheese only restaurant in the Lower East Side (only in New York, right?). On our way there, Erik and I admired the architecture of the old buildings and checked out some of the restaurants and stores that we passed by. When we were about two blocks from our destination, I noticed a bright red awning in the middle of a block on 12th avenue. I looked over and saw the words “Cure Thrift Shop.” Huh? That sounds cool. Then I looked over to the left and I noticed the words “Diabetes Research Institute Foundation” and I, being the brilliant blogger that I am, made the connection that the Cure Thrift Shop must benefit the DRI in some way. Wow!

“Hey, look at that,” I nudged Erik. We decided we should come back later and I said that we should invite Layne and Brad to come too.

We finally arrived at S’Mac, where Layne and Brad were waiting for us. It was very easy to spot each other, since we both have our pictures spread out on the Internet (thank you Facebook!). We introduced each other to the respective significant others, and then went to the front counter to order. Now, as I said, the entire menu is different combinations of macaroni and cheese. I ordered the Napoletana, which tasted like a pizza with its roasted tomatoes, basil and mozzarella cheese. Layne ordered the 4 Cheese, which tasted like your ordinary mac and cheese on steroids. Erik ordered the Cajun mac and cheese, which was spicy with sausage, green peppers, celery, onions and Cajun seasoning. Finally, Brad had the Cheeseburger, which from what Layne reports, tasted just like Hamburger Helper (I don’t eat beef, but if that’s your thing, I’m sure it’s good).

Layne and I chatted about diabetes. I showed her my insulin pump, which is several iterations up from her pump, which she last wore seven years ago. She had never even seen a Bolus Wizard Calculator or knew what active insulin was! I get really excited when I can educate people with diabetes about all the advancements and technology that is out there, so it was great. But of course, it was terribly boring for our Type 3 boys who were with us, so we also talked about things to do in New York City, our jobs, Florida… you know, the usual get-to-know-you questions.

After we finished our delicious lunches, we walked up the street to the Cure Thrift Shop. We poked around, looking at the antiques upstairs and the clothes downstairs. Layne ended up purchasing a beautiful lime green chandelier earrings, which she actually left the store wearing! When she was purchasing the earrings, we got to talking to the woman at the front counter, who we learned not only owns the store, but has type 1 diabetes too! Small world! We told her that we both had type 1 diabetes and that we were really happy that we found the store.

Layne and Brad parted ways with us afterward, but not before we snapped a photo as a memento of our afternoon.

layneandme

As usual, meeting a blogger from the O.C. was wonderful and it continues to motivate me to meet as many bloggers as I can! If you are going to be in the New York City area, please email me at amblass at gmail dot com and I would be happy to arrange a meet-up with you!

You can visit Cure Thrift Store at their LES location:

Cure Thrift Shop
111 East 12th Street
(between 3rd & 4th)
New York, NY 10003

You can also visit their Tumblr blog here.

7 Comments
  1. February 25, 2009 2:42 PM

    That is so cool. More meetups I say! I love them and that store sounds so cool.

  2. February 25, 2009 4:45 PM

    It sounds like you had an awesome time, and S’mac sounds heavenly! Soon, you’re going to need to start using advanced calculus to calculate how many bloggers you’ve met🙂

  3. February 25, 2009 4:57 PM

    @George: Yay meet-ups! Meeting you was DEFINITELY a highlight.

    @Lee Ann: I think I’m between 25 and 30 bloggers at this point. I tried counting, but I think I’m leaving some people out.

  4. February 25, 2009 6:23 PM

    Mmmm, a Macaroni & Cheese place sounds SO GOOD right now!!! Cool picture in front of the CURE Thrift Store! 🙂

  5. February 26, 2009 1:36 AM

    Oh gosh, that sounds like fun! I wanna go to S’mac now.

  6. Alexandria permalink
    June 16, 2009 2:15 PM

    I love the Cure! My daughter has type 1 diabetes and she is beautiful.

    Best of Luck

Trackbacks

  1. M.I.A. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.