Skip to content

The beginning of the longest 40 days of my life.

February 24, 2009

After much thought and consideration, along with some very, very insightful comments, I have finally decided what I should give up for Lent.

I’ve decided…

to give…

up…

Chocolate!

::tries to maintain composure::

I know it seems rather cliche to give up chocolate. I’m pretty sure everyone has given up chocolate at some point or another. You might be wondering why, as someone with diabetes, I’m still even eating chocolate (heavens!). But it’s true. It’s my weakness. I eat chocolate all the time. Not as much as some other foods, but it’s definitely something that has unwittingly crept back into my palate on an all-too-regular basis.
mardigrasjester
There were a lot of other things I could have given up. I thought about giving up fast food, but then I realized that I don’t really eat fast food that much except when I’m traveling or extremely busy which I’m not expecting to happen during Lent. I thought about giving up diet soda, but then I realized that as a type 1 diabetic, I live and breathe off that stuff especially when my blood sugar is high. I thought about giving up Twitter or Facebook, but as someone who works in social media, that’s kind of like a doctor saying, “I think I’m going to give up surgical masks” or a teacher saying, “I think I’m going to give up pencils.” I thought about giving up popcorn, which I also eat a lot, and that probably would have been my second choice had I not decided on chocolate. Perhaps I’ll attempt that next year.

In the end, I decided on chocolate because I have noticed that I am eating it a lot lately. Almost everyday. And compared to popcorn, chocolate is way less healthy. I am trying to lose weight and be more active. I thought using the 40 (technically 46 if you count the Sundays but that’s neither here nor there…) days of Lent would be a perfect jump start, almost like a cleansing, to get the chocolate out of my system. I’m excited to see where I might be in 46 days. Hopefully this will subconciously encourage me to eat healthier. Perhaps I’ll pick up some rice pudding to have as a dessert, which has quite a bit less calories and fat. It’s also very tasty.

Now excuse me while I go empty out the vending machine…

What are you giving up for Lent?

7 Comments
  1. February 24, 2009 2:06 PM

    Wow, you’re a brave and daring woman! I wish you much luck. Feel free to pass any chocolate you’re looking to avoid on to me. What better way to support a friend, right?😉

    P.S. I know you can do this!

  2. voosh permalink
    February 24, 2009 2:09 PM

    Good luck!

    I HIGHLY recommend substituting rice pudding for chocolate. It functions as both snack and dessert and is irresistibly delicious. You must got to Rice to Riches in SoHo – it’s a rice pudding shop with every flavor imaginable…but you’ll have to steer clear of the chocolate rice pudding😉 Try the Jello rice pudding cups – they’re sugar free, only 70 calories, and oh so satisfying

  3. February 24, 2009 2:27 PM

    Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do a great job.

  4. February 24, 2009 2:48 PM

    I am giving up snacks at work. There are jars of chocolate, gummies, pretzels, and all kinds of stuff. I snack all day long so this will be difficult. Good luck Alison!

  5. Kathleen Ellis permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:03 PM

    Saw your tweet and have to say that after much deliberation, I am giving up Starbucks for Lent. Not easy for me as I get a latte almost every morning, but it’s way too decadent a thing to waste money on in this economy and I know it will be hard to give up. And, I already told myself that I can’t just switch to a different chain for lattes b/c that is truly cheating. We’ll see but after 40 days, I’ll have about $140 more to use on my trip to Africa!

  6. February 27, 2009 1:50 AM

    What strong, brave women here! May your devotion be rewarded for your abstinence. No Chocolate, Starbucks…what about going natural? Like boxes of raisins, prunes (are actually good), uhm…

    I read today that in reality, the type of saturated fat found in real chocolate, primarily cocoa butter, is not the same as the artery-clogging saturated fats found in animal meats. Does that mean chocolate is better for you than beef? I’m in trouble.

    Great blog.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Thursday: Snackyness of the Nutty Kind. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.