Skip to content

Twitter Thursday: Your DREAM JOB!

February 19, 2009

Yesterday afternoon, I was trying to figure out what I wanted to blog about. I’ve been having a bit of a dry spell lately, which is kind of ironic considering my frequency of posting has gone up, but that’s neither here nor there. Needless to say, I think my posts are a bit dry and in need of a little livening up. I asked my Twitter crowd for some ideas on what to blog about, but all I heard were crickets.

::cricket:: ::cricket::

Instead, I decided to ask my Twitter followers a very specific question, and hopefully their answers would speak to me and I would have something to write about.

I asked my friends and followers: If you could change jobs for 1 day and do ABSOLUTELY ANYTHING, what would it be?

I tweeted that my job of choice would be an event planner, because I think it would be fun to be active, creative and have an end result that you can experience. Then I waited for the responses.

And boy did I get responses! I followed up a couple of times throughout the afternoon, reminding people to send me their answer, because the responses I was getting were so good! They ranged from the humourous (I’m looking at you Scott Johnson😉 ) to the heartfelt (Teresa O’s dream of being a diabetes researcher). It was such an interesting insight into everyone’s personalities – including some surprising revelations, like Heidi’s dream of doing travel journalism in “exotic, dangerous places.” Is this the same cute, quiet Heidi I know and love? There are also a couple of wannabe starlets on Broadway (hat tip to Cara and The Other Allison B – who is actually now Allison S since she got married but I like to pretend she’s still The Other Allison B).

ANYWAY, tons of responses were sent in and I’ve compiled the whole lot of them for your perusal. If you’re on Twitter, take a minute to look up these fine folks. They are definitely worth following!

twitterthursday02192

Did you miss out on the Twitter Poll of the day? Never fear! You can let me know what your DREAM JOB for a day would be right here in the comment section. Can’t wait to hear what you crazy kids dream about when I’m not around…

9 Comments
  1. February 19, 2009 10:58 AM

    If you want to go really wild with the dream jobs, I’d love to host a makeover show, be an MTV Veejay (you know, when they USED to be cool and have music videos…maybe I’d have to be on Fuse?), or become a cast member/writer on SNL.

  2. February 19, 2009 11:06 AM

    Where’s mine?😦

    • February 19, 2009 11:09 AM

      Oh crap! I must have skipped right over it when I was copying and pasting! I’ll put it in right now!

      Edit: The reason you didn’t show up originally is because you’re a locked account, you didn’t show up in search.twitter.com, which is what I used to collect all the responses… shoulda just used my replies tab! All the times I’ve seen people do these collections, they’ve always been from search.twitter.com, so I didn’t even think about using my replies tab. Me = not the brightest bulb.

  3. February 19, 2009 11:59 AM

    LOL! Have of what you just said totally went over my head. An equally dull bulb!😀

  4. February 19, 2009 11:59 AM

    *half

  5. February 19, 2009 12:01 PM

    Sara: Locked accounts (like yours) don’t show up on search.twitter.com, which is what I used to aggregate my responses. However, you do show up in my replies tab. That’s what I should have used.

  6. Kassie permalink
    February 19, 2009 2:01 PM

    sounds like your dream job might be twitter technical support person🙂

    Today, my answer to that question is that I’d be a wedding photographer.

    • February 19, 2009 2:10 PM

      Kassie: Aw man, that sounds so awesome! Hmmm, maybe I need to switch… again… my dream job has changed about twelve times since starting the poll! Too many great ideas!

  7. February 24, 2009 5:07 PM

    Good stuff there Allison! I could totally test a mattress today. I am le tired.

Comments are closed.