Skip to content

Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff.

February 18, 2009

Here’s a list of things that I’ve decided not to worry about anymore (whether or not that actually happens remains to be seen, but I’m making a concerted effort nonetheless):

1. I’m not going to worry about my weight or how quickly it is (or ISN’T) moving up or down.

2. I’m not going to worry about what I’m doing this summer. I don’t need to go to conferences or faraway places to have a great summer. There is plenty to do in New York City, after all. It’s why I moved here!

3. I’m not going to worry about what I’m doing with the rest of my life. I have a job, dammit.

4. I’m not going to worry if my blood sugars are a little nuts lately. It’s temporary and I’m working on fixing it. In fact, I just got the USB cable for Minimed’s Carelink in the mail yesterday, so I don’t have to hand write logs anymore! Yippee!

5. I’m not going to worry about the weather. Because there ain’t a darn thing I can do about that one.

6. I’m not going to worry about whether or not certain people like or dislike me. I can’t control what people think of me. I can only do my best to be a nice, pleasant person to be around.

7. I’m not going to worry about how many people visit my blog on a daily basis. Like blood sugars, these numbers don’t define my self-worth. I AM A GOOD PERSON.

8. I’m not going to worry about other people’s problems, insecurities and neurosis. I have enough of my own to deal with. No need to pile on the plate!

9. I’m not going to worry about why the heat in my apartment is inconsistent (hot in bedroom, freezing in living room, mild in bathroom). It’s too ridiculous and it’s almost summer and then it won’t matter because it’ll be hot everywhere.

10. I’m not going to worry about The Unknown.

“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

9 Comments
  1. February 18, 2009 5:26 PM

    I need to make a list….🙂
    He knows the number of hairs on your head (and on my head, that’s a LOT!!).🙂

  2. February 18, 2009 7:17 PM

    Good list except for number 3. I think that if you do not have to plan then “life happens” to you.

  3. February 18, 2009 7:41 PM

    Cara: It’s very therapeutic!

    Khurt: Under normal circumstances I would agree, but at this point, with the recession and job loss and all that, I think it’s important to stick with what I’ve got rather than making any risky leaps and jumps right now. And because I can’t do anything immediately, it’s rather pointless to look for a job!

  4. Kassie permalink
    February 18, 2009 7:53 PM

    Ah, but planning is about preparing for the time when you can leap🙂 But it’s nice to de-prioritize it for a while, that’s for sure.

    Oh, and if self-worth depended on blog hits, I’d be screwed😉

  5. February 18, 2009 8:07 PM

    Kassie: I’m certainly keeping an eye out for opportunities, but I’m not actively seeking anything or trying to figure out what else I could/should be doing. I’m trying to focus on being present in the moment and doing the best job I can at the job that I have. And being thankful for the job that I do have. I hope that makes sense to everyone. I’m not trying to be lazy or passive, just re-focusing my attention for awhile. This isn’t something I’ll do forever. I’m sure there will be a point when I decide to focus on my next move. But that point isn’t right now.

  6. February 18, 2009 9:38 PM

    No, don’t worry.

    For what it’s worth, I read daily but through google reader. And since you are full feed, I don’t show up on your number of hits. There are probably a lot more of us listening to you than you realize.

    Cheers!

  7. February 18, 2009 9:46 PM

    I love your list, especially #3! Worry does not make for better choices….just a more stressed out life. The best plan is to be open to God’s plan for your life, and I have found that He doesn’t reveal the whole thing all at once😉

  8. February 18, 2009 9:54 PM

    Leighann: Thanks! All the different RSS feeds give me different numbers for how many people read me (Bloglines 33, Google Reader 86, and Feedburner, which is supposed to keep track of both plus a few others, tells me I have 28 subscribers!). So I basically just pay attention to the traffic and comments because the feeds are too confusing!

    Carol: Thanks! I completely agree.🙂

  9. May 18, 2009 3:56 PM

    I LOVE YOUR LIST!

Comments are closed.