Skip to content

These are a few of my favorite blogs…

February 17, 2009

Today was exceedingly busy with a bunch of client projects, so unfortunately I don’t have a well thought out blog post for you. Instead, I thought I’d share a couple of blogs that do have some great posts that you should check out, if you’re in the mood for some reading material. These are websites I visit on a regular basis and have become a mainstay in my RSS feed reader (which just happens to be Bloglines, although it kills me when it decides to reload the last 200 posts for a blog).

Feministing: This site has the best smart, snarky commentary on every issue involving womankind. They can sometimes be a little over-the-top or dramatic for my taste, but their coverage of national and international women’s rights violations will keep you well-rounded when it comes to foreign affairs and international social justice. If you or someone you know is a woman, read this.

Frugal Dad: I love personal finance blogs, even though I’m terrible with my finances. Oh the irony. The format of Frugal Dad’s posts are very easy to follow, and pretty entertaining too. I could write an entire post with my personal finance blogs, but I think I’ll highlight Frugal Dad this time around.

Dooce: The mommyblog to end all mommyblogs. Seriously, even if you’re not a mother, even if you’re not a parent, even if you HATE CHILDREN, you should read Dooce. Trust me. When you do, you’ll understand why.

Chelsea Talks Smack: I kind of think of Chelsea as the twentysomething version of Dooce. Mostly because she writes in ALL CAPS and bold. She’s also feisty. But Chelsea also talks about issues – deep serious issues – that twentysomethings face. She also has a great soundtrack that goes along with her blog, so even if you hate the blog, you’ll probably like the music.

Bluejake: Bluejake is a photo blog by Jake Dobkin. Most of them are taken in Brooklyn. I always find them interesting and beautiful, mostly because they are of a place I rarely visit despite how close I live to Brooklyn. If you like photography, it’s worth a stop over.

Share a website with me in the comments section. Thanks!

7 Comments
  1. February 17, 2009 9:42 PM

    I was shocked that your first website was feministing – my sister an editor for the website. How weird!?!?! I guess it shows that the blogosphere is really quite a small world. Recently I have been following Phil and Team Type 1 in their Tour of California: http://philsoutherland.blogspot.com/

  2. February 18, 2009 10:42 AM

    Love, love, love Dooce! Have you tried Jennsylvania.com? Jen Lancaster is the author of Bright Lights, Big Ass and Pretty Fat and a couple other books. She’s funny and although some of her posts have been sporadic lately, I encourage you to go back and read some of her archived stuff. Very funny.

  3. February 18, 2009 11:11 AM

    I met Jen Lancaster last weekend. I picked up her first book (very similar name to the name of my blog!) and had her autograph it.

    If you haven’t been to Blog Nosh, check it out. http://www.blognosh.com They bring together the best of the best from the internet, highlighting magazine quality work from bloggers who you may or may not have heard about.

    I am biased because I am Blog Nosh’s Green Living Channel editor. If anyone has a favorite green living post they have read or written, please let me know!

  4. February 18, 2009 12:46 PM

    Carolyn: No way! Really? It isn’t Courtney, is it? I don’t know… C names… haha. Tell her that I love her site!

    Lora: I have been to Jennsylvania. It’s a cute, funny site. I haven’t read much of it, but I will add it to my RSS feed. Maybe I’ll get into it.

    Leeanthro: I have seen BlogNosh too. It seems like a really good resource!

  5. February 18, 2009 9:37 PM

    No, it’s not Courtney…it is ann. I’ll pass the message along to her.

  6. February 18, 2009 9:52 PM

    The bluejake site very cool. Adding that one to my feedreader.

  7. February 18, 2009 9:55 PM

    Carolyn: Way cool!

    Khurt: I’m glad you like it!

Comments are closed.