Skip to content

My First Valentine’s Day

February 13, 2009

Like many of you, I spent my formative years pining after the chocolates, flowers and teddy bears that the more popular and prettier girls at my high school received on February 14 (or thereabouts). Being what I believed to be an eternally single girl (partially my doing, partially fate’s doing), I joked with my girlfriends about February 14 really meaning SAD – Singles Awareness Day.

But this year I have someone new in my life so February 14 finally is living up to its namesake. I have heard enough horror stories about Valentine’s Day to know that I should at least participate in the planning! Seriously, some people around here are downright grumpy about the day! But I’m really excited! A couple weekends ago, I picked up the mail and noticed a flier for a sale on the Broadway play Speed-the-Plow (you may recall the name from the gossip story about Jeremy Piven’s mercury poisoning scandal). Now that Jeremy is out, William H. Macy is in! YES!

Afterward, we’ll be heading downtown to 5Ninth, the restaurant where I celebrated my 14th diabetes anniversary. One of the horrible things about Valentine’s Day in New York City is that the prix fixe menus are over $100 per person plus the restaurants are crowded and the food is tiny. 5Ninth seems pretty reasonable so I’m looking forward to heading back for a second time. A fun day of activities to celebrate our first (of many, hopefully) Valentine’s Days together.

And to kick it off is a bouquet of lovely stargazer lilies! As you know, they are my favorite flower, and while I think roses are pretty and all, I think they are overdone. Why would I want to get stuck with flowers because they are “the flower du jour” instead of getting flowers I actually love?

A few of the buds are already blooming…

Stargazer lilies, my favorite flower

Stargazer lilies, my favorite flower

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

2 Comments
  1. February 13, 2009 9:52 PM

    Sounds like it’ll be a great Valentine’s Day for you and Erik. As long as you’re with him and doing something you both like, it should be spectacular! Pretty flowers you got there, too🙂

  2. February 16, 2009 11:02 PM

    They’re beautiful!🙂

Comments are closed.