Skip to content

Uncomfortable.

February 12, 2009

My personal trainer is making me uncomfortable.

In a good way.

The main reason I signed up for a personal trainer was because I knew the only way I’d really accomplish my goal is if I had someone who kept me accountable and didn’t let me slack off when I decided I didn’t like something. To keep pushing me when I got uncomfortable and wanted stop.

It hurts.

I’m tired.

Do I have to?

Can we do something else?

Sometimes I think these excuses are exactly what I do in my diabetes and that’s why my A1Cs have never gone below 7.0%.

Because getting below 7.0% is uncomfortable. And so is getting under 165 lbs., even though that’s where my body should be.

Now I have someone who is teaching me and motivating me to look good on the outside, in the same way a diabetes educator teaches me how to be good on the inside. It takes a lot of practice and it probably won’t be perfect everyday. I am not very strong, am easily defeated, and I silently protest what I’m doing by eating foods I shouldn’t. It’s very counterproductive, but it feels better than the alternative.

It’s like this feet thing my personal trainer keeps talking to me about.

My toes point out, angled towards the side, when I walk and when I stand. They probably do it when I’m sitting down and sleeping. He says a lot of people walk with their toes pointed out. They don’t even realize it. It doesn’t help that I spent two years doing ballet in college and that what we had to do.

Now, during our workouts, my personal trainer makes these little adjustments to my feet by having my toes face forward. And man is it uncomfortable. But it’s what I’m supposed to do all the time. He says that the more I do it, the better it will feel. My joints and tendons will get used to holding my feet in a certain position and eventually, if I stick my toes towards the side, it will feel uncomfortable.

what-not-to-wearBeing uncomfortable is the main reason why people don’t make changes, even if they are what they need to do. I think that’s the number one excuse of why people on What Not To Wear dress so badly. They describe their scruffy, oversized or ill-fitting clothes as “comfortable. Dressing and looking nice takes effort and it’s different, thus, it’s uncomfortable. That is, until they started learning how to do it the right way and then it doesn’t become as uncomfortable.

It’s easier to stay with something that isn’t working – even if it isn’t good for you – than it is to put in the work to change your habits for the better.

What are good things are you avoiding because you are uncomfortable with them? And what are you doing to break out of your comfort zone?

8 Comments
  1. February 12, 2009 11:02 AM

    Wow! That’s a great question! Almost everything I avoid doing, I avoid because it makes me uncomfortable. I wanna new haircut but I’m afraid it will make my face look fat . . . I want to work out and lose weight but I absolutely HATE exercise . . I want to wear certain close but I’m worried about what people will think of me . . . I’m thinking of starting the pump but, again, can I deal with the discomfort?? Thanks for this post! It’s really got me thinking. I really need to get over my crap and just do what I know I have to do. Congratulations on your first step!

    ~Layne

    • February 12, 2009 12:21 PM

      @Layne: I totally know what you mean. I am always concerned about what’ll happen after I make that big leap. I’m glad I gave you something to think about!

  2. February 12, 2009 11:03 AM

    Um, close??? I meant clothes. Oops!

  3. February 12, 2009 1:52 PM

    Now I’m sitting here at my desk, trying to figure out if I turn my toes out…

    • February 12, 2009 1:58 PM

      @Lora: Hahaha! I know, I totally didn’t even realize I did it. Also look how your feet turn when you’re walking… or better yet, have someone else watch how you walk. If you’re aware of it, you might change how you normally do things.

  4. February 17, 2009 10:11 AM

    how true. but stick with it. after 25 or 30 years of daily exercise or yoga practice, you actually begin to look forward to it 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Uncomfortable. « Ride of My Lemonade Life
  2. It’s Grand Rounds, What Do You Think? GOSH! // Emergiblog

Comments are closed.