Skip to content

Making the Commitment.

February 5, 2009

Last night I made the first step in getting in shape for the Ride to Cure Diabetes.

I signed up with a personal trainer.

It’s a pretty big step for me, as I have never worked one-on-one with anyone to get in shape before. But I often work out near the personal training area and I’ve always thought that it would be extremely helpful to know exactly what kinds of positions to be in and also to try out different moves. I tend to get stuck doing the same crunches and leg lifts. I’m not even sure if I’m doing them right.

One of the reasons I’ve never worked out with a personal trainer before is that I’m extremely self-conscious. I always thought that if I worked out with someone that it meant they’d be staring at all my fat and flab, thinking how gross I was. Not exactly a motivating attitude! But I figured that if I really wanted to stop being so self-conscious all the time, then I need to change what I’m self-conscious about, which in my case is my weight. Kind of a catch-22.

After I worked out on the elliptical machine last night, I went over to the offices and asked to talk to someone about personal training. I spoke to one of the trainers, Timothy, who went through my various options. I decided to sign up for a sample pack that will cost me $79.

My first work-out is tonight, and then I’ll have one next Monday and next Wednesday. Timothy seems nice and very excited about working out. Which is so not me. We’ll have to wait and see if this ends up making me want to jump into the Hudson. Hopefully not. It’s awfully cold out.

Have you ever worked with a personal trainer before? I’d love to hear from others about whether or not you think it ended up helping. Luckily this is a relatively affordable trial pack, so I’ll be able to try and see if it works for me. If you haven’t worked with a personal trainer before, what’s your reason? How do you stay motivated and where do you learn new routines and things to do?

I’ll have a recap of my experience later tonight at Ride of My Lemonade Life, but I’ll also let you all know how it goes here next week.

6 Comments
  1. February 5, 2009 5:41 PM

    I have worked with a personal trainer before and I found it really helpful–mostly for the fact that I had an appointment I paid for, so I wasn’t about to miss it, and therefore, wound up working out more than I might have on my own. I also think a personal trainer is great for showing you how to use all the machines properly and how to work out with weights–you never realize how much there’s a right way and a wrong way to do things until someone shows you. It really helps you get the most from your workout. Good for you and good luck! I’ll be reading to see how the training for the big event is going…

  2. February 5, 2009 7:27 PM

    I’ve had the introductory lesson, and the occasional “show me how this works” or “help me with this issue” with the floor trainers at the gyms at which I’ve had memberships. I’ve had lessons stacked up that I’d not had the time to use…

    Your success with a personal trainer really depends on the trainer and on your working relationship with him/her.
    –A “drill sergeant” attitude may put off someone who needs gentle encouragement, and may push someone to the point of injury.
    –On the other hand, a trainer who is too lax won’t push you enough to develop your physical skills.
    –If you are training for a specific sport, a trainer who is unskilled in that sport and in training for it can do you more harm than good.

    Trainers are psyched about being fit and helping other people get fit (or at least more fit) — no matter what their current weight, body composition, or fitness level. If the trainer makes fun of your current body composition, it’s time to get another one.

    I hope this all makes some sense to you. Enjoy your workout!

  3. February 6, 2009 10:20 AM

    One reason I sign up for races is to give me a good reason to have a training plan. Why not go ahead and sign up for the Ride now? It can be intimidating but I’m sure you can do it with training. When I signed up for Ironman the first time, I was not sure I would be able to finish…
    Congrats…hope you enjoy your personal training sessions!
    -Anne

  4. February 11, 2009 2:38 PM

    There is a large number of personal trainers to choose from in nyc. I would do some research mostly on the internet and see which seems the most personal and comfortable for you.

  5. February 11, 2009 2:41 PM

    @personal trainer nyc: I have already signed up with a personal trainer at my gym, but thanks for your comment!

Trackbacks

  1. Just Keep Moving, Moving, Moving… « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.