Skip to content

Fifteen.

January 27, 2009

Today is the fifteenth anniversary of my diabetes diagnosis.

If popular belief were true, my diabetes would have been cured three times by now. But it’s still here.

Yesterday I asked everyone to share something good with me. If you haven’t done so yet, I invite you to hop over to the last post and share your something good with me.

When you have diabetes for fifteen years (or heck, if you’ve had diabetes for fifteen minutes), it’s easy to find the something bad.

Waking up at 3 a.m. with a blood sugar of 52 mg/dl. Or waking up at 3 a.m. with a blood sugar of 522 mg/dl.

The gushers, the bruises, the stings. The weakness and disorientation from a low. The nauseau and crankiness from a high. There’s sitting down when you want to be running. There’s water when you want a milkshake.

The hours reading the same five month old Good Housekeeping at the endocrinologist’s office, the diabetes educator’s office, the nutritionist’s office, the dentist’s office, the ophthalmologist’s office and the podiatrist’s office.

The stares, whispers and outright rude “Are you sure you can eat that?” questions which really translate into “I’ve never faced my mortality on a day-to-day basis for years on end before but I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to do that.” Gee, thanks.

But when I see that inquiry, “Tell me something good,” I can’t help but smile.

I live in one of the greatest cities in the world. I’ve traveled the country, and met interesting people from all sorts of backgrounds and beliefs. I have a creative outlet to share my life (which may or may not be all that exciting right now – but someday people will be use my blog as inspiration for my unofficial and unauthorized biography to be sold at Borders for $4.99 in paperback).

I have a wonderful, big apartment (with a dishwasher!) and a roommate who I actually get along with. I have a boyfriend who is amazing and sweet. I have smart, caring parents who are involved in my life but not too involved. I have a friends who listen and take care of me when I need it.

I have a job. I have co-workers that I like. (Those 2 things do not always go together). I have a car and health insurance that actually leaves more money in my pocket than takes away. I have a support system that is fun and creative and thoughtful.

I’m going to Philadelphia in two weeks. And Boston a month after that. There will be lots of travel this summer, per usual. Tonight, I’m going to Devi, a fancy Indian restaurant (my favorite kind of food), with Erik for Restaurant Week. On Valentine’s Day, we’re going to see Speed-the-Plow, with William H. Macy (who I think is a way better actor than Jeremy Piven, but that’s just me).

After fifteen years of living with diabetes, there has been a lot of something bad. There has also been a lot of something good. But you know what? I remember the something good way more than the something bad. I remember a great dinner with my prom date and dancing all night long, not the insulin pump that was clipped to the back of my dress. I remember seeing the Eiffel Tower and the field of sunflowers and the Mona Lisa, not my meter breaking and having to search French pharmacies for a new one. I remember school plays, picnics with my friends, and eating bagels and Grandma’s Peanut Butter Cookies for lunch, not going low during a test or having my pump set rip out.

I have fifteen years of something good in the face of Something Bad. I plan on having many more years filled with lots of something good.

17 Comments
  1. Michelle permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:28 AM

    Wonderful post. I especially love to translation of “Are you sure you can eat that.” I will find something good today.

  2. January 27, 2009 10:41 AM

    I’m over from Twitter to check out the fabulous comments on your blog. You are right about having awesome readers. Keep on doin’ what you’re doin’
    carma

  3. January 27, 2009 10:46 AM

    You have a dishwasher. That alone should cheer you up!😉

    Happy d-versary, and here’s to many more🙂

  4. January 27, 2009 10:48 AM

    I should clarify…I mean, many more years of life, not the D. Lack of caffeine caused my brain to implode. Sorry!

  5. January 27, 2009 10:57 AM

    Great post Allison.

  6. January 27, 2009 11:04 AM

    Happy dia-versary. I love your great attitude – keep it up!!

  7. January 27, 2009 12:18 PM

    Awesome outlook! True, we do relish the good in living with a Chronic illness rather than focus on the bad days. After 15yrs you should feel proud that you still do!

  8. January 27, 2009 12:37 PM

    Great blog to celebrate 15 years. Thanks for sharing something good with US

  9. January 27, 2009 1:02 PM

    Happy D-anniversary!🙂 Fifteen years is too long. So is 23. But you know, we have a great community and we still lead amazing lives.
    Have a great day!

  10. Melissa permalink
    January 27, 2009 1:04 PM

    great post =]
    It’s nice to see someone focus on the good things, and not just all the bad things of diabetes.

  11. January 27, 2009 2:07 PM

    Congrats, not for the 15 years of having diabetes but for the 15 years you’ve been living with it and remembering mostly the good! I’m going on 28 years and my something good is that even with complications, was able to give birth last year to a healthy baby girl. I also stopped counting after 5, 10, 15, 20… years there will be a cure but sure am glad for all the technology we have to help manage day-to-day.

  12. January 27, 2009 4:15 PM

    Happy Anniversary!

  13. Gayle permalink
    January 27, 2009 7:01 PM

    Happy day! Remember celebrating this time last year?…which reminds me that mine is just around the corner! Thanks for the post and hope to catch up with you soon!

  14. January 27, 2009 7:27 PM

    I’m with Kathy! You’re one lucky gal to have a dishwasher! I hope you have an awesome dinner tonight – I LOVE Indian food! Happy D-anniversary – I wish you many more years of health and finding lots of good🙂

    How long are you going to be down here in Philly? I get back from San Diego late on Saturday so can’t make it to Hannah’s like I’d initially planned, but do you have plans on Sunday?

  15. January 28, 2009 10:37 AM

    Here’s to a happy, healthy 15 years Allison!!

  16. January 28, 2009 11:12 AM

    Something good. Every day since tickets for Dave Matthews Band at MSG went on sale (and sold out without me getting tix), I’ve had my virtual assistant in India go on Ticketmaster to see if they put any more tix up for sale.

    8 days later, I got tickets!

    I’m not saying that Jeremy Piven is neccesarily better or worse than William H. Macy, but Ari Gold is an awesome character and can’t see anyone but him portraying it.

Trackbacks

  1. Why I Blog « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.