Skip to content

Tell Me Something Good.

January 26, 2009

When I was in college, whenever I saw a particular guy I knew, he’d say to me, “Tell me something good.”

Even though this particular guy and I no longer speak, I still love that phrase. “Tell me something good.”

To us, it was something that was going on in our lives. It was a lecture we heard, a book we read, a song we listened to, a great conversation we had with a good friends, a delicious meal we ate, anything. “Tell me something good” was a motto, a mantra, something that kept me focused on the positives.

Every so often I get into a rut with life. That’s one of the reasons why I started the 101 Things in 1,001 Days challenge. Because I assumed that by keeping up with that, I’d always have something good to share.

Today it seems easy to focus on the not good. It’s cold outside today. Freezing, actually. I think they’re threatening snow. My back is incredibly sore from sleeping on a futon over the weekend. My blood sugars aren’t too happy with my overindulgence with this afternoon’s pizzafest. My credit card debt is now lower than what it was last summer (though I suppose the fact it isn’t higher than it was last summer is something to be thankful for). There seems to be a never-ending stream of stress for my friends, co-workers and family.

Tomorrow is my fifteenth anniversary of being diagnosed with type 1 diabetes.

On the eve of the landmark, when my spirits are a little lower than usual, I’d like to inquire from my Faithful Readers and Friends, tell me something good. It can be anything at all. Doesn’t even have to be diabetes-related. Tell me something good you’ve done lately, or read, or watched, or heard. Tell me something good that you ate or went to. Tell me something good that you are planning to do. Tell me something good.

35 Comments
  1. January 26, 2009 5:14 PM

    “Tell me something good” – I love that.

    My something good would be that I consider you to be a very good friend of mine (even though we’ve not met (YET!) in real life), and I appreciate all the goodness you bring to all of those around you.

    I know, not exactly what you were thinking of, but I hope it helps lift the mood a little bit.

    Love ya, mean it!

  2. January 26, 2009 5:40 PM

    Scott: Aww, thanks! I really appreciate it and I’m going to do my best to be in MN at some point this summer… I shall keep you and the rest of my MN buds posted!

  3. January 26, 2009 6:19 PM

    My Other Half and I attended our first Burns Dinner this past weekend and tasted haggis for the first time. My costumed teddy bear, Donovan B. Bear, got to show off his new Sherriffmuir doublet and waistcoat (some of the most formal of formal Highland attire — he already had a kilt), “practice” on his bagpipes (a musical room-freshener in the form of bagpipes), renew old friendships, and make new friends.

  4. January 26, 2009 6:33 PM

    Something good….yesterday, church was good. Better than good, actually. It was fantastic. And I am truly blessed.🙂

  5. January 26, 2009 7:03 PM

    My something good? Hmm, I have a shiny brand new laptop that runs super fast. I have a new kitty who got a great report at the vet and was a brave little girl and let me put her in the carrier without much of a struggle. (And she’s the cutest and sweetest ever!!) And, your 15th Diaversary is something to be very proud of. It’s 15 years you have lived a healthy life with this disease. That’s something GREAT – be proud of yourself!

  6. obscureradiance permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:07 PM

    My father was born in Baghbanpoura ; a dilapidated city of sorts in the heart of anciet Pakistan. It’s funny how the inabilty to pronounce the name of my father’s birthplace justifies the fact that this was a city plunged (and still is) in poverty with not many windows of opputunity.
    But today I live in an appartment on the 35th floor,I have access to the best education,to the best technologies,to different cultures most importantly i have opputunity.I can do whatever i want to.I have choice. All because my father fought for education in a country which offered none in a time when there was none.If it wasn’t for my dad I wouldn’t even know what an ice cream cone is (without any exagerration).

    That’s my something good.

  7. Autumn permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:11 PM

    I’m still employeed! My blood sugar is doing pretty good even though I’ve got a head cold with a sneeze that gives me whiplash. I talked to my dad for an hour last might and I’m married to a sweetheart!
    Also, your blog cheers me up. I like reading it because I feel like a kindred spirit of sorts. We’re both Oregon girls who now live elsewhere. We both graduated from UO and diabetes have never stopped us from traveling the world!

  8. Wendy permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:26 PM

    Tell you something good. Let me think about this. It was much warmer today then it was yesterday. So we didn’t freeze to death when we fed the animals.

  9. January 26, 2009 9:32 PM

    I too like the ‘tell me something good’ phrase. In these concerning times I think I’m going to start using it. The good: similar to Karen above I have a relatively new laptop that I love! On the ‘D’ note, in a little over 10 days I celebrate my 40th anniversary and I’m in good health. I’m very thankful.

    Congratulations on living successfully for 15, keep up the good work!

  10. vakalspm permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:16 PM

    THANKS ALLISON,
    ‘ TELL ME SOMETHING GOD’
    WOW WAT A FANTASTIC PHRASE I EVER COME ACROSS !
    I M ALWAYS LOOKING FOR SOMETHING POSITIVE FOR LIFE ALL AROUND. THIS IS MY FIRST BLOG CHAT WITH ANYBODY IN MY LIFE AND SEE HOW NICE STARTING. CONGRATES FOR HAVING SUCH NICE ATTITUDE TOWARDS LIFE, RARELY SEEN NOW A DAYS. KEEP GOING TO MOTIVATE PEOPLE ALL AROUND WILL REALLY PAY YOU ONE DAY.
    WITH SINCERE SUPPORT FORM HEART
    SUNIL

  11. January 27, 2009 1:23 AM

    Tell Me something good

    My hubby made the promotion board…he is now a Master Sgt
    My daughter had a great day at school today.
    I woke up this morning..I could feel my feet and legs.

    I can go on and on

  12. January 27, 2009 9:23 AM

    Like the rest, I love this: Something good? Let’s see- my dog, Tucker, learned to roll over last week and now when I’m bored I make him roll across our entire living room floor. It seriously cracks me up. He’s handsomely rewarded with a treat, of course.

    And I’m training for the Disney Princess Half Marathon and did my long run on Saturday, which went really well. On days when I feel like my diabetes is totally wearing me down it’s nice to know that I actually might be able to finish this thing.

    Make today a great day for yourself- You totally deserve it!

  13. January 27, 2009 10:18 AM

    “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” -Margaret Mead

    People like you have changed *my* world at least. You were one of the first people on twitter that I followed when I learned that I had diabetes. And through “committed citizens” like yourself, I have found a whole community of people willing to help me navigate these new waters, improving my world.

    So thanks for that.🙂

  14. January 27, 2009 10:32 AM

    Even though in these rocky times there are a lot of not-so-good things for everyone, finding the Something Good is great!

    I’m married to someone incredible who takes care of me and lets me take care of her. Together we can face rocky times as a team. And economic times are rocky right now as we are both entrepreneurs.

    My almost 16 year old niece, who has had Type 1 diabetes since she was 7, is taking better care of herself despite the rational desire to say FU to diabetes. Plus she likes hanging out with me (the benefit of being an aunt instead boring old Mom) and I like hanging out with her.

    Thanks for the reminder to find the Something Good!

  15. Barchbo permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:39 AM

    I got married. And I love it. And I love that I am helping my new hub get healthy, too!

  16. January 27, 2009 10:42 AM

    Ahh, my something good is I’m working in 2009(Amen) – I have a man in my life that I love and he loves me back and Happy isn’t just a word “other people” use to rub it in anymore🙂

  17. January 27, 2009 10:47 AM

    What’s good?
    My hard work has paid off. I have had diabetes for 33 years and don’t have significant complications. Sure, I have some hypoglycemia unawareness…but that brought me the most amazing dog ever. I am lucky to have Dixie.🙂
    I am happy to have friends and family who support me.

  18. January 27, 2009 11:02 AM

    Wow! You all have such awesome responses. I’m in awe of the positivity here. This is so great.

    @tmana: My friend Jenny has told me lots of stories about Burns dinners. They sound like fun!

    @Cara: You are blessed! Woohoo!

    @obscureradiance: What an amazing story. Thank you so much for sharing!

    @Autumn: Did you ever see the T-shirt “Oregon Girls Rock”? I think we should both get one!

    @Wendy: I’m glad you didn’t freeze to death.

    @Keith: Happy early diaversary! Wow – 40 years! That’s amazing.

    @Sunil: Thanks so much for stopping by.

    @Cherise: Congratulations to your hubby. That’s so great!

    @Allison: Thanks! And that’s great about Tucker. I definitely want to meet the new addition sometime.

    @Michael: Wow, that is the NICEST comment I’ve gotten in a long time. That is so sweet of you to say. Thank you so much!

    @Robyn: Ugh, I totally know what it’s like to want to say FU to diabetes. I’m glad she’s taking care of herself and that everything’s going well for you.

    @Barchbo: Congrats on marriage! That’s wonderful.

    @Raschanda: I love the “happy” part. It’s nice to feel part of the club.

    @Molly: Yay for no complications! That’s awesome. Yay for Dixie too.

  19. Rhonda (Diamond's mom) permalink
    January 27, 2009 11:49 AM

    I have 2 something goods for you.
    1st, you will always be our very 1st FFL friend. YEA!🙂
    2nd, Diamond celebrates another year of good health on her “D Day”. I always say it’s any excuse to party, but I’m so glad she dwells on the good instead of the bad.
    “Happy” 15th!
    xoxo
    R

  20. January 27, 2009 12:36 PM

    Something good?

    I am going to the Bahamas in March. The Friday I come back, I’m going to the Britney Spears concert.

    My mother bought me a Blackberry for my Christmas/birthday present. She surprised me with a car charger as well.

    Boyfriend is putting effort into not only our relationship, but into his life as well. I am falling more in love with his daughter each day.

    I’m starting to feel okay with the fact that I don’t have everything figured out.

    And I’m joining the YMCA this week too!

  21. January 27, 2009 4:56 PM

    My sister is getting married on Saturday and I am the grooms best man!

    Also my youngest sister is having her first baby after her and husband have been trying for years.

    Lots of blessings!

  22. January 27, 2009 7:33 PM

    I’ll have Rufus playing in my head the rest of the night. Good thing I like that song😀

    Well, I’m going to San Diego in a week and I am stoked! I so hope I get the job, and if I do, you’ll have a place to crash if you ever make it out there – which I hope you would! Good for us both🙂

  23. type1emt permalink
    January 27, 2009 8:23 PM

    something good…

    The world is still spinning. Someone loaned me a sensor, so I can use my Dexcom while I wait on insurance…and a person in my lab group has a pink PING. (tubing, medic alert, its impossible to miss)

    Great idea, it helps to accentuate the positives. Take care.

  24. January 28, 2009 8:33 AM

    I’ve been complaining about the heat all day (it was hottest day in 70yrs today and no end in sight so I’ll bet tomorrow breaks more records)… but there’s always something good to be found…

    I’m not freezing cold. An 8gig memory card for my phone arrived today. I just discovered the other night I can watch youtube on my phone. My daughter and her boyfriend found a great apartment very near where they work, and it has all new everything. My grandson turned 1yr old last week. My kids and I talk more on Twitter these days then we used to with other chat prgs or Email. Twitter Rocks! I lost 4lbs last week.

    HEY, that’s a lot more ‘something goods’ than I thought I’d have! Thanks for making me think about these things.🙂

    Hugs,
    Gaelyne / Flitterby

  25. January 28, 2009 10:32 AM

    Here’s my something good: God blessed me with two beautiful children who are happy and healthy. They are a joy to me every day. He also saw fit to bless me with the best husband ever. It just doesn’t get any better than that.

  26. Gail permalink
    February 1, 2009 12:56 AM

    My something good? Well after 33 years of Type 1, I have no complications, yeah! I have a husband who loves me very much and takes wonderful care of me. He calls me at work every day to make sure I have my lunch on time!! I have 3 healthy children. AND the snow is finally gone!!

  27. February 9, 2009 1:59 AM

    I’m very late for this, but I just found this post and I love the positive stuff!
    My something good: I recently found a guy I had a MAJOR crush on when I was a teenager… only to discover that he had a massive crush on me, too! And now he’s moving here – and I am SO happy🙂
    *grin*

    We so easily slip into the negatives, don’t we? Good to see some nice stuff here, it helps us all to see the good stuff in life.

    Don’t forget how catchy a smile is!

  28. Elroi permalink
    September 18, 2009 10:40 AM

    Seems its an all ladies stuff, but I most say that I am caught up in its web. While reading Allison’s experiences, I faught with tears.
    As today My life is far from what I had wanted, I am an addict to a habit that makes most people around me despise me.

    I cried on bed this morning till about 11am and then I came to do some suffing. For no reason known to me I decided to google “somethng good for me”. this was because I was tired of the pain, the rejection and frustration of being an African and leaving the traditional African life.

    But there is always a good around you, all you need is just to spend some extral time searching.

    You guys are the result of that google search, and though I may still return to my hurt, I will not forget that there are still some good people in the world looking out for the positive, and telling “something good”.

    Now I have “something good” to tell, and that is that I met a new group of friends at “tell me something good”.

  29. December 27, 2009 12:05 AM

    Wow! These posts have been up for almost a year and I, like the reply before me, found this post through a google search, as I was feeling low…typed in “tell me something good” and voila! I don’t have diabetes, although I have several friends and family members that do, so I do relate a bit to some of these posts and congratulate you all for your successes and healthly living! I’m also thrilled to no end that so many people have shared and truly shifted my perspective of today. My something good: definitely finding these posts! Thank you everyone.

  30. joel permalink
    December 30, 2009 6:59 AM

    life is good.

  31. elton permalink
    March 8, 2010 12:55 PM

    am doing my btec in a residential univ…last week i was able to go home for 2 days and i was very happy.

Trackbacks

  1. Fifteen. « Lemonade Life
  2. Chinatown and the Cloisters. « Lemonade Life
  3. This Was Good. « Lemonade Life
  4. This Was Good. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.