Skip to content

A Proper Introduction.

January 21, 2009

I’ll admit it. I can be a little slow when it comes to posting details about big new. In this case, I can be a little more than a month slow. I’ve made some brief mentions of this new development in some recent posts, but nothing very descriptive or helpful. So here goes:

A couple of months ago, I wrote a post on how I’ve never had a boyfriend and how I sometimes think that it’s because I have diabetes (even though that’s totally and completely ridiculous). The feedback was amazing and a couple of ladies suggested to me that I join an online dating website that I had never heard of – OKCupid. Now, at first I was put off a little because it seemed like there were some less than savory gentleman lurking about the website, but considering it was free and supposedly had a large membership, I thought it was worth a shot (ha, Cupid, shot, get it? I’m so punny).

I signed myself up and filled out my profile, posted pictures and answered a ridiculous amount of survey questions to help OKCupid “get to know me better.” My screenname was derived from my favorite Christian book, Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller. I wrote that if anyone knew the connection between my username and Christianity, they’d be bumped to the top.

A few emails popped up from guys who seemed decent enough, but nothing really lasted. One fell of the earth after one IM conversation, and another told me he was too busy with school (riiight…).

But then I got a message from Erik. He knew the book – and liked it. After two weeks of back-and-forth messages, and about another week and a half of phone calls, we finally went out on our first date on Saturday, December 13.

The following Wednesday, we went out on our second date.

By Friday, we were “Facebook official.”

What can I say? I had a lot of time to make up for.

So that’s our “how we met” story (which sadly is not as totally awesome as my parents). I’ve never had to introduce a boyfriend to anyone before so I’m not entirely sure what all people want to know (so if I leave something out, just ask). He’s 25, grew up in Minnesota and is a Christian like me (so he’s a nice Midwestern boy). He’s a geologist. I’m terrible at describing other people’s professions (unless you’re, say, a teacher or a doctor), but basically he looks for things underground.

We have a lot of the same interests: traveling, museums, history, photography. We have (almost) the same taste in music and movies (he is a guy, so there will always be some undeniable differences). Our phone calls can last so long that I think I may need to institute a curfew on when I can call. He lives about an hour away from me in Rockland County, New York, and while he’s technically only 26 miles away, there’s no direct route from my place to his. Thank you, New Jersey freeways.

He’s remarkably easy-going with the whole diabetes business. And he’ll probably be accompanying me to various diabetes events. Or you can come and visit us here in New York City. We’re around. (Haha, I said we!).

20 Comments
  1. January 21, 2009 11:13 AM

    I saw your status on Facebook and I was definitely curious. 😉 He sounds like a great guy and I’m happy for you. Have fun!

  2. January 21, 2009 11:23 AM

    That is GREAT! I sure look forward to meeting BOTH of you sometime soon! I’m very happy that you are happy Allison – you deserve it!

  3. January 21, 2009 1:00 PM

    Certainly better than calling him #newboy. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing both of you soon!

  4. January 21, 2009 2:31 PM

    Congrats on the new boy! I am planning a trip to NYC (possibly; depends on $$) and I would love to meet you and new boy!
    By the way, I started looking around on OK Cupid and an contemplating filling out a profile myself.

  5. January 21, 2009 2:44 PM

    Way to go! I met my husband via a twisted way that started with a personals ad in a local paper. Sometimes you have to look a little further out to find the good ones!

  6. January 21, 2009 2:48 PM

    Aww! He seems like a good match for you so far. I love Donald Miller. Have you ever read “Searching for God Knows What?” He brings up good thoughts in that one.

  7. January 21, 2009 2:52 PM

    Amalas: Thanks!

    Scott: I will keep you posted on any Minnesotan voyages!

    Ian: Yes, the “new boy” nickname was quickly getting old. I’m sure I’ll see you around soon.

    Cara: I would LOVE to see you! Maybe you can crash on my couch if you need a place to stay? And you should totally start a profile – it’s free, so you’re not really losing anything (unlike Match and eHarmony which are total crapshoots).

    Lora: Wow, the personal ads? I would love to hear that story!

    Akirah: I LOVE Searching for God Knows What. I’ve actually read all his books, except To Own A Dragon since that one is about boys growing up without fathers. He has a new one coming out this spring and I CANNOT WAIT!

  8. January 21, 2009 5:41 PM

    Yay Allison! Sounds like a nice young man and you sound like you’re having fun. Keep enjoying and tell Erik we said welcome!

  9. January 21, 2009 11:21 PM

    Yup. We grow nice boys here in Minnesota – especially those with a strong Viking name like Erik.

  10. January 21, 2009 11:53 PM

    Awwww. That’s just so cute. I met That Canadian Boy I Married online, too.

  11. January 22, 2009 8:37 AM

    Hurray!!!!! So happy for you and New Boy!

  12. January 23, 2009 12:47 PM

    Congratulations!

  13. March 30, 2009 3:38 PM

    Wow! So this is Erik. Awesome. Just awesome.🙂

    You know, we’re not all that far from Minnesota if you two are ever out this way…

    • March 30, 2009 3:50 PM

      Actually, we’re going to be out in MN in June for a wedding. Planning a meet-up with Mr. Scottie J…. I will email you with details when I actually have some.🙂

  14. March 30, 2009 4:48 PM

    Sounds terrific! I’d love to see you again, meet Erik and (bonus!) meet up with Scott too! Please do email details when available…🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Talkin’ about the ‘Betes « Lemonade Life
  2. My First Valentine’s Day « Lemonade Life
  3. Thing That Makes Me Happy #13: My Boyfriend. « Lemonade Life
  4. The Big Move. « Lemonade Life
  5. How New Boy Became The Boy. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.