Skip to content

Weekend with the Plague

January 13, 2009

There are quite a lot of things I don’t like, but I definitely think coming down with a fever on a Friday night definitely takes the cake as one of the things I really really don’t like.

Being sick on a whole is pretty mundane. I was feeling a bit achy during dinner with the New Boy, and after watching the last half of Dante’s Peak, the chills set in. I was visibly shaking as the fever went a little higher, so I popped some ibprofen and off to bed I went. The only thing I can say I’m grateful for is that when I get sick, it’s rarely more than a fever. The fever seems to be what my body latches onto – not a sore throat or running nose or headaches. Just a fever. It’s zero to 60 and not much in between.

Although I managed to have breakfast the next morning, after another 2 hour nap I realized it was probably best to just head back home, where I promptly spent the next two days on the couch. Sick days aren’t terribly amusing. I watched a lot of wedding shows, and some made-for-TV movies. The Golden Globes. I spent a little bit of time on the computer, but for the most part my iPhone was my connection to the world.

The blood sugar were particularly atrocious. I managed to climb down into the 200s a couple of times, but for most of the weekend by body was predictably infection bound in the low 300s, despite a temp basal of 150%! It wasn’t until I woke up this morning at 93 mg/dl that I was anywhere convinced that I might actually be getting better.

I stayed home yesterday for a much needed recovery day (why, hello, Mr. Truck, how nice of you to run over me) but now I’m back at work. There should be some more worthwhile and entertaining posts coming soon.

4 Comments
  1. January 13, 2009 1:34 PM

    Ugh, no fun. Hang in there!🙂

  2. January 13, 2009 3:08 PM

    What a drag, especially on the weekend. Glad you are feeling better now though. Have an extra fun time next weekend to make up for last!

  3. January 13, 2009 6:35 PM

    Major suckage. Glad you’re back in action!

  4. January 13, 2009 8:14 PM

    Nothing is worse then a weekend cold! Sorry Allison. I am glad you are back at it!

Comments are closed.