Skip to content

Opposites.

January 8, 2009

You know how they say a diabetic can do the exact same thing two days in a row and have completely and totally different reactions?

Well, it’s also true that two diabetics can do the exact same thing and have completely and totally different reactions.

Strange, but true.

Last night, Erica and I met for dinner at a Ukrainian restaurant, Veselka, in the Lower East Side. Erica started off the meal at 183 mg/dl, while I tested 338 mg/dl in the subway and did my correction bolus well ahead of sitting down.

At the restaurant, Erica opted for a side salad, grilled chicken breast and mashed potatoes, while I ordered a side salad, kielbasa and mashed potatoes. Afterward, we agreed that sampling the dessert menu was in order, so we split two slices: one cheesecake, one peanut butter chocolate pie. (Yeah, yeah, we’re going to hell – tell me something I don’t know.) To drink, we had Diet Coke (like you do). Although we split the pies fairly evenly at first, Erica went ahead and finished off the cheesecake while I left a bit of the peanut butter pie.

Erica decided to go big and bolused for 120 grams of carbs, while I decided 100 grams was a bit more realistic since I didn’t eat as much of the pie.

When we were done with dinner, Erica still had some time before heading off to a birthday party, so we walked over to Max Brenner’s to get some hot chocolate. Max Brenner’s is famous for their chocolate concoctions, and a hot chocolate on a blistery January evening seemed just the trick to warm up for a bit. We debated how many carbs were in the cup, and it was a toss up between 50 grams and 60 grams.

Erica decided to go with 60, while I bolused for 50.

“We’ll see who wins!” I laughed.

We sat around for another hour or so, looking at guys’ profiles on OKCupid.com and just talking about boys in general.

Finally it was time for Erica to head off to her birthday party, so we set off down 14th Ave., where I’d catch the PATH to Hoboken and Erica would meet her friends at bar. As we walked down the street, chatting about going low around our respective significant others, I ironically enough began to feel a little strange.

“I actually think I’m going low,” I said. We veered off the main part of the sidewalk, and Erica held open my meter case while I tested.

53 mg/dl.

Whoops.

I picked up a bottle of apple juice at Duane Reade around the corner and we stopped at Wendy’s so I could sit down. Once inside, Erica decided that maybe she should test, thinking that if I dropped, she might be too since she took more insulin than me.

Erica’s lucky number?

270 mg/dl.

The complete and total opposite of me, and she not only ate practically the same thing I did (carb-wise at least) but she also took more insulin than me!

Strange, strange disease this diabetes is. Of course, there are all sorts of reasons why that could have happened… different absorptions rates, basal rates or bolus ratios that need tweaking, etc. We just thought it was a little funny that two people who did almost the same thing not only had different outcomes but that the outcomes were polar opposites of each other.

Of course, the story wouldn’t be complete without a 5 a.m. wake-up call with a blood sugar of 367 mg/dl. My spidey sense tells me that the fat in the kielbasa and pie slowed down my absorption, and the insulin kicked in a lot quicker than the food did. But who knows really? Oh the joys of being a diabetic.

5 Comments
  1. January 8, 2009 2:03 PM

    Funny how that works. It sure emphasizes how completely arbitrary diabetes management can be some days too.

    Also, I’m having waffles and bacon for lunch again today, so I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for you when I’m in hell😀

  2. January 9, 2009 1:26 AM

    Recalling this made me laugh. We need to have dinner together more often so we can do more experiments. lol.

  3. January 9, 2009 1:27 AM

    Also, bring on hell! (I love desserts waaaaay too much.)

  4. January 9, 2009 4:24 PM

    Oh the joys for sure!

  5. January 11, 2009 10:09 PM

    so true I too will see you in hell lol as I had a cupcake for breakfast oh the joy of being diabetic

Comments are closed.