Skip to content

If by “getting ready for bed” you mean “filling out a meme,” then yes

January 4, 2009

Taken from Julia.

Things you’ve already done: bold
Things you want to do: italicize
Things you haven’t done and don’t want to – leave in plain font

1. Started your own blog – um…

2. Slept under the stars. – With my many years of camping experience, it was bound to happen.

3. Played in a band

4. Visited Hawaii

5. Watched a meteor shower

6. Given more than you can afford to charity

7. Been to Disneyland/world – Yes, both.

8. Climbed a mountain – Depends on how you define a mountain. According to my born-and-raised midwest boyfriend, I was born on a mountain. But I certainly haven’t gone all Will Cross yet.

9. Held a praying mantis

10. Sang a solo (in the shower)

11. Bungee jumped

12. Visited Paris – Yep. With my mom in 2003.

13. Watched a lightning storm at sea.

14. Taught yourself an art from scratch.

15. Adopted a child.

16. Had food poisoning. – Ugh.

17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty – No, but I’ve been to the Statue of Liberty twice so I think I should get some kind of credit for this considering most New Yorkers haven’t been once.

18. Grown your own vegetables.

19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France – Yep. During the trip to France.

20. Slept on an overnight train. – Just once. On the trip back from Canada to Portland.

21. Had a pillow fight. – Duh.

22. Hitch hiked.

23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill. – Oh come on.

24. Built a snow fort

25. Held a lamb.

26. Gone skinny dipping.

27. Run a Marathon – I hesitate, but I’d like to do some kind of endurance athletic event.

28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice

29. Seen a total eclipse

30. Watched a sunrise or sunset.

31. Hit a home run

32. Been on a cruise

33. Seen Niagara Falls in person

34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors

35. Seen an Amish community

36. Taught yourself a new language. – Not sure I’d want to teach myself a new language, but there are certainly other languages I would like to learn.

37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied. – Doubtful this will happen, but one can dream.

38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person

39. Gone rock climbing. – The New Boy loves this, so I feel I must indicate some interest.

40. Seen Michelangelo’s David

41. Sung karaoke

42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt

43. Bought a stranger a meal in a restaurant.

44. Visited Africa

45. Walked on a beach by moonlight. – Oregon Coast

46. Been transported in an ambulance

47. Had your portrait painted.

48. Gone deep sea fishing.

49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person

50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris – This doesn’t involve walking so it’s much easier to do than the top of the Statue of Liberty.

51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling

52. Kissed in the rain

53. Played in the mud.

54. Gone to a drive-in theater.

55. Been in a movie

56. Visited the Great Wall of China

57. Started a business
– Techncially Lemonade Life Consulting LLC was a business that I had for a year, but it wasn’t very profitable and too complicated for what I did, so I don’t have it anymore.

58. Taken a martial arts class

59. Visited Russia

60. Served at a soup kitchen
– I served a couple of times in high school with Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies – I was a Girl Scout all throughout elementary school, and I always did fairly well selling cookies.

62. Gone whale watching.

63. Gotten flowers for no reason

64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma

65. Gone sky diving

66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp – This is sort of a half yes/half no answer… Not sure if I really want to see that, but I’m also fascinated with history.

67. Bounced a check

68. Flown in a helicopter

69. Saved a favorite childhood toy
– I have several stuffed animals and dolls from my childhood.

70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial – Yep, when I was 13.

71. Eaten Caviar

72. Pieced a quilt

73. Stood in Times Square – Many, many times. Too many times, actually. It’s cool in that “Get me the hell out of here” kind of way.

74. Toured the Everglades

75. Been fired from a job

76. Seen the Changing of the Guard in London – I missed it when I was there, but I’d like to see it some day.

77. Broken a bone

78. Been on a speeding motorcycle

79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person

80. Published a book

81. Visited the Vatican

82. Bought a brand new car.

83. Walked in Jerusalem – I would LOVE to do this.

84. Had your picture in the newspaper. – A couple of times, actually…

85. Read the entire Bible.
– Someday, I tell you, someday…

86. Visited the White House – Does the outside of it count?

87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating

88. Had chickenpox. – I was nine years old. Or maybe 10. I can’t remember.

89. Saved someone’s life.

90. Sat on a jury

91. Met someone famous. – A few castmembers from the Star Trek series. They were famous to me!

92. Joined a book club

93. Lost a loved one.
– Sigh.
94. Had a baby. – Someday. In the far, far off distant future.

95. Seen the Alamo in person

96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake

97. Been involved in a law suit

98. Owned a cell phone.
– The person who wrote this does know what century we’re living in, right?

99. Been stung by a bee – Yep. A few times. And yet totally not afraid of bees.

7 Comments
  1. January 4, 2009 10:18 PM

    Your brave. I got stung by a bee at a little league game that was trapped underneath my uniform and I cried like a little girl!

  2. January 5, 2009 1:38 AM

    Hmm… I wonder how these lists would change if we were each to list 100 things we’d like to accomplish within our lifetimes, rather than looking at someone else’s list… Then again, this is in some ways just as arbitrary as a Purity Test…

  3. January 5, 2009 1:23 PM

    Michael: Almost everyone I know is afraid of bees. I guess this just makes me even more of a freak of nature!🙂

    Tmana: I’ve seen quite a few of these memes in a variety of forms. I don’t have a list of 100 things I’d like to accomplish in my lifetime, but I do have a list of 101 things I’d like to accomplish by Sep. 28, 2010! LOL. Check it out if you haven’t yet.

  4. Autumn permalink
    January 5, 2009 3:11 PM

    I’m not sure if I should say congrats on the boyfriend. It makes it sound like your time being single was terrible, which we know it wasn’t. It is nice to share the ups and downs of diabetes with a significant other. I hope he helps you laugh through all of those diabetes moments that would normally bring you to tears.

  5. January 5, 2009 3:38 PM

    Autumn: I don’t think saying congratulations means my time single was terrible (and I agree, it definitely wasn’t). I think what you mean is “congratulations on finding someone you like and want to spend time with” and considering how hard that can be, I think everyone deserves a congratulations! Haha. He definitely has a sense of humor about all my Borg appendages. It’s nice not to feel self-conscious for once.

  6. January 6, 2009 10:20 AM

    Whoa!
    Boyfriend??
    I missed that news!

    Very happy for you – hope you had a nice holiday and that 2009 is just as packed and exciting as 2008 sounded.

  7. January 11, 2009 12:43 AM

    You’ve never seen a sunrise/sunset? Now that you have to do! There’s something so beautiful and “quieting” about that experience.

    I’ve never broken a bone either and it’s not something I aspire to.😉

    Thanks for sharing this list. I always love learning little nuances about bloggers.

Comments are closed.