Skip to content

The Twelve: A 2008 Recap Meme

December 30, 2008

Last December, I participated in the meme where you are supposed to write the first sentence from one memorable post from each month of the year. I haven’t seen any other recap memes so far this year, so I thought I would use an oldie-but-a-goodie as my 2008 recap meme.

As I was reading through my archives, I realized that I don’t have very interesting first sentences. I’m not sure why I can’t seem to come up with a catchy first sentence, but it’s definitely not my forte. Perhaps I should add this to my list of New Year’s Resolutions. Also, I noticed that some months had more memorable posts than others. There were a few months where I had trouble deciding between posts, while other months none of the posts really seemed all that life-altering.

But I suppose that’s how life goes.

Feel free to join in!

The Year in Twelve Sentences:

January: Kickin’ Diabetes Ass Since 1994
“Today started out great.”

February: Valentine’s Day for the Single Girl
“As someone who has never had a boyfriend, Valentine’s Day has never been too terribly important to me.”

March: Motor Error
“One of the frustrating things about being a diabetic while both sick and PMSing is that you never really know if your astronomically high blood sugar is from a faulty pump set, bad insulin or the fact that your body is just temporarily psychotic.”

April: What I Love to Love
“I love driving, because despite how horrible it is for the environment and my wallet, there’s nothing more satisfying than a long drive with good tunes turned up so loud that I can sing along and I don’t even notice how bad I am.”

May: The Myth of the Noncompliant Diabetic
“Some people think that an uncontrolled, noncompliant diabetic (said with the deep, dark voice of death) is just a myth that endocrinologists and diabetes educators use to make all of us feel like no-good delinquents who should be serving time in some kind of diabetic corrections facility.”

June: Weekend in Philly
“You know those weekends where everything goes terribly, horribly wrong?”

July: Another Welcome Note
“I’m in the New York Times this week.”

August: A Walk in the Park
“I spent a lovely, lazy afternoon in the New York City this past Saturday.”

September: Oops, I Forgot/Underestimated/Ignored It Again
“I think the thing that gets to me the most about living with diabetes is just how dumb I can be sometimes.”

October:
Blog Action Day: Poverty and Diabetes
“Diabetes doesn’t care who you are.”

November: History.
“The last time someone told me that I was watching history was when two airliners crashed into a skyscraper and we watched it collapse on television.”

December: Sweet Words of Approval
“People like approval.”

One Comment
  1. December 31, 2008 5:00 AM

    Hey Allison!! Hope all is well!

    I love July’s quote. :]

    Happy New Year! I wish you all the best in 2009! :]
    -Mollie

Comments are closed.