Skip to content

Still Snow.

December 22, 2008

My flight out of Newark on Saturday morning was delayed because the snow that came down Friday. Because of the delay, I was going to miss my connection from Seattle to Portland so I was reassigned to an 8pm flight.

When I arrived in Seattle, my 8pm flight was canceled.

The weather in Portland is atrocious. It was windy and had snowed all day. It snowed several times last week. They were canceling flights left and right. After checking with the Horizon airlines, I was put on a flight for Sunday, but I was also given the opportunity to do stand-by.

As flights on all airlines were being canceled (it was also snowing in Seattle), I managed to snag a seat on a 4:30 flight.

I arrived about 2 hours later, thanks to de-icing delays and blocked gates because of snow.

Thankfully, my suitcase magically had arrived ahead of me and was waiting for me patiently amongst others in baggage claim.

After slow but steady drive through snow and wind, I arrived at my childhood home.

And I haven’t left since.

It snowed more yesterday. And it’s going to snow more today. We’re about 14 inches outside, but there could be five or six inches more by the time we’re done.

We’ll definitely have a White Christmas this year. It’s still below freezing, so there’s not a chance of it melting. The meteorologist says the ridge of cold air in the central U.S., around Chicago and Minneapolis is blocking our cold air from moving (thanks guys!). They also just said on the news that this is the THIRD LARGEST SNOWSTORM since 1940. There were 2 largest snowstorms in the 1960s. Wow.

We’re hoping to break out of the house this afternoon to finish Christmas shopping. I really only need a few hours at the mall and I should be good. Luckily the stores are still open, but hopefully it shouldn’t be too crowded!

That’s pretty much the only upside to this.

I have a whole new sympathy and understanding for the folks in Massachusetts and higher.

And a firm realization that I will NEVER move there.

I’ll have pictures soon!

4 Comments
  1. December 22, 2008 3:47 PM

    Glad to hear you made it to Portland. I went to school in Plattsburgh, NY, an hour west of Burlington, VT and south of Montreal. The beauty of being so far north is that during Winter, it never rains. Its either sun or snow. No inbetween!

  2. December 22, 2008 5:52 PM

    It’s funny because I am living in Alaska and it hasn’t snowed in weeks. Then it is snowing everywhere that usually doesn’t get snow. How strange. Nobody had better say that global climate change isn’t an issue. I’m just hoping my flight will go through tomorrow!

  3. Debbie permalink
    December 22, 2008 11:55 PM

    Glad to hear you made it home! I think you got darn lucky to get a flight from Seattle to PDX. By Sunday they started canceling all of them and even throughout today. We are trying to leave tomorrow for SoCal…..we’ll see if that actually happens!

    Enjoy your visit and try to enjoy the craziest northwest winter of your lifetime🙂

  4. Autumn permalink
    December 23, 2008 1:35 PM

    I’m planning on flying out of Phoenix to Fairbanks tomorrow morning. I’m praying for clear skys. We have a connection in Seattle and I’m praying that nothing delays it. It’ll be 9 months since I’ve last seen my sister and nothing is going to keep me from getting there!

Comments are closed.