Skip to content

Christmas Meme

December 10, 2008


Training for my CGM doesn’t happen until tonight, so I don’t have anything new to report on the diabetes-front. Here’s the Christmas Meme that’s going around. I’ll have a full CGM update tomorrow!

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?

Usually whatever wrapping paper my parents have purchased that year. I sometimes use gift bags if we have any leftover from the year before (we keep gift bags that we have received from other people, but we don’t buy any ourselves).

2. Real tree or Artificial?

Growing up, it was always real. I grew up in Oregon, land of the Christmas trees. Seriously, we have Douglas Fir trees everywhere, so it looks like there are fields of Christmas trees growing on the sides of our hills and along our freeways. There are probably five Christmas tree farms within a three mile radius of my house, so we would go with my dad to pick out our Christmas tree and then someone would cut it down. This year, however, my mother has informed me that they are buying an artificial tree. I suppose it’s for the best. It’s usually very muddy when we go get a tree, and it’ll be easier for my parents to pack things up when Christmas is over.

3. When do you put up the tree?

Usually about two weeks before Christmas. I’m not sure if my parents have purchased the tree yet. They will probably wait for my younger brother to come home this weekend so he can help decorate it.

4. When do you take the tree down?

The weekend after New Year’s, essentially when the holiday season is over.

5. Do you like eggnog?

I adore eggnog, but I rarely drink it because it has so much sugar and fat in it. I usually get a tiny glass once a year.

6. Favorite gift received as a child?

I know this is horrible and my parents are probably going to kill me for saying this, but I don’t really remember that many of my Christmas presents from my childhood. I remember getting quite a few Star Trek action figures when I was a kid (yes, I am a Trekkie) that I thought were pretty cool. I also got one of those PlaySkool kitchens and plastic food that I remember playing a lot with over the years, especially with my younger brother. But that’s about it…

7. Hardest person to buy for?

My dad. I never know what he wants, because he usually buys what he wants for himself. It’s hard to get creative with him.

8. Easiest person to buy for?

My mom. She’s a girl, so I usually get her things like jewelry and other knick-knacks which she usually likes. She wears a lot of stuff I’ve given her.

9. Do you have a nativity scene?

Despite the fact that neither of my parents are that religious, we do have a nativity scene. I believe it was given to us though, so I think we just do it because it’s festive. I would like to get one for my apartment, because I am religious so it would be nice to have one.

10. Mail or email Christmas cards?

A few years I have mailed our cards, but usually I don’t send anything. I don’t usually have anyone’s address (I do everything via email nowadays) and I think Christmas e-cards are a little tacky, but they are still cute. I don’t mind getting them.

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?

I don’t think I’ve ever gotten anything horrible… sometimes I get clothes that don’t fit or that I don’t particularly like. But too many members of my family read my blog so I’m not going to call anyone out! That would be mean.

12. Favorite Christmas Movie?

Muppet’s Christmas Carol. It’s actually the only Christmas movie we owned growing up so it was the only one we’d watch… I like Love Actually as well, though I think of that more as just a love story than a Christmas story, even though it takes place around Christmas.

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?

I haven’t even started yet… I’ll probably take a day this weekend and buy a few things to bring home with me. I only purchase presents for the immediate family, so I don’t have to worry about taking too much time. I haven’t bought presents for friends because most of us can’t afford to do that, and my parents buy our “family gifts” that we send to the grandmothers and the extended family.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?

You mean regifting? No, I haven’t. I usually exchange or eventually toss.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?

Cookies. Definitely.

16. Lights on the tree?

Colored or white, I’m easy to please.

17. Favorite Christmas song?

Carol of the Bells and Tran-Siberian Orchestra’s Christmas Eve/Sarajevo. I find both beautiful and a bit hypnotizing. I can’t really do anything except listen when those songs come on.

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?

We’ve done both. Clearly, living across the country from my family means that I travel, but I’m going back to Oregon so the rest of my family isn’t traveling. But last year, we all went down to my grandmother’s house. We usually have one of my grandmother’s visit for Christmas, so we can stay home because it’s cheaper to fly one person than four people. Occasionally we have gone to my maternal grandmother’s house, but not very often.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Dasher, Dancer, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen, Vixen, Rudolph… ::looks up names:: Oh yeah, and Prancer. Close, 8 out of 9 ain’t bad.

20. Angel on the tree-top or a star?
Usually some kind of tree-top ornament. It hasn’t been an angel or a star. We like to rock the boat.

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning?

Christmas Eve. My father always said “Christmas looks nicer at night,” with the lights shining and everything. So we open presents after our Christmas Eve dinner, and then on Christmas we have a breakfast, play with toys, maybe see a movie. Christmas is pretty chill.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year?

The amount of people at the mall is ridiculous. Definitely my least favorite thing. People can be so inconsiderate.

23. Favorite ornament theme or color?

I haven’t quite gotten into ornaments yet, but there are definitely a few pretty ones my mother has that I plan on stealing someday. We have an ornament from my first Christmas that is a baby in a cradle, which is painted with “Baby’s 1st Christmas”. However, this baby happens to be nude so every year my brother and I take it out and play with it, calling it the “Naked Baby” and having it dance around. It’s hilarious. Maybe you had to be there…

24. Favorite food for Christmas dinner?

Christmas dinner is pretty similar to Thanksgiving, and I’m not terribly picky so I just like the food.

25. What do you want for Christmas this year?

What do I want for Christmas? A Nikon D60. What am I going to ask for? Probably some books, clothes, shoes and cash to buy the stuff I don’t have room to carry on an airplane.

2 Comments
  1. December 10, 2008 1:38 PM

    I totally laughed at the naked baby. If we had an ornament like that, I think we’d do probably do something like that too 😀

  2. December 13, 2008 9:27 AM

    I always get the 12 days of cookies newsletter from the food network. Holiday cookies rock!

    I’m curious about the CGM. Do you love it, or is it too soon to tell?
    I’m anxiously awaiting an update!

Comments are closed.