Skip to content

Beauty of the Season.

December 8, 2008

I feel very fortunate to have made some really wonderful connections through social media, and I think last Friday really justifies the amount of time and energy I’ve put into all of this.

On Friday, I came to work and logged onto my computer. As usual, I opened up Facebook, my RSS feed, and Twitter in an attempt to catch up on what I had missed that morning at my endocrinologist appointment. On Twitter, I spotted a message from a woman, @KatjaPresnal, who I had met a few weeks before a Tweet-up in NYC and had been emailing back and forth regarding a client project. She had tweeted that she had one extra ticket to see Wintuk, the Cirque de Soleil show playing at the WaMu theater.

Without even giving that much thought to it, I immediately wrote back saying I was available and would love to go. Lo and behold, I was the first one to respond and Katja told me she’d love to have me come along with her family.

The show was magical and breathtaking. Between a juggler on a high-wire, acrobatic cyclists (they bounce their bikes UP the stairs), and extraordinarily flexible women who literally bend themselves in half, I was in awe the entire time. The costumes were incredibly detailed and creative, and the lighting and sets gave it a cool, crisp wintery feel (that low temperature in the theater also didn’t hurt but I have a feeling that wasn’t intentional…).

The music in the first half was very upbeat, almost club-like. I found myself bouncing along to the beat more than once. I whispered to Katja, “I wonder if they have a soundtrack.” In the second half, things slowed down a bit and became more melodic, and just as beautiful.

Although the audience had children of all ages, I imagine it would be best suited for older elementary school aged and older. The physical comedy will be appreciated by anyone, but the actual story was probably missed by any young kids. Not to mention it’s 2 hours long, and that’s a long time to be sitting.

Although Wintuk is not holiday in nature, it does celebrate the beauty of the season. It’s frigid outside, so perhaps we’ll see a bit of snow ourselves! It was wonderful to watch such a unique performance and really made me feel blessed to both live in New York City, close to all of these wonderful attractions, and also have such a wonderful community of friends and colleagues.

2 Comments
  1. Kassie permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:41 PM

    We had the pleasure of seeing Kooza a few weeks ago. Attempts to explain why I loved it have, so far, fallen short. Let’s just say it was extraordinary. Both boys (11 and 6) loved it as well.

  2. December 9, 2008 3:47 PM

    Awesome. I’m seeing Quidam, here in London, on my birthday next month and I can’t wait!

Comments are closed.