Skip to content

Sweet Words of Approval.

December 2, 2008

People like approval. It’s in our human nature. Growing up, we want the approval of our parents, teachers, coaches, and friends. Sometimes people even want the approval of complete strangers. We want approval for money. We want approval at our jobs. We want approval for home loans, car loans, student loans.

As a person with diabetes, I grew up wanting approval to eat cookies for dessert, just like my brother. I wanted approval from my doctor to let me know I was doing a good job. When I’m married and ready to have children, I’ll need approval from my doctor to have a baby.

For the last few weeks, I’ve been waiting for another approval. Approval for the Minimed Continuous Glucose Monitoring system. Since I moved last year and am on a different insurance than when I received my last insulin pump, getting an upgrade to the Minimed 722 didn’t seem like it would be much of a challenge. I received the new insulin pump a couple of weeks ago, though I haven’t bothered opening it yet because the only thing that makes it different from my current insulin pump is the CGM compatibility. The CGM receiver and insulin pump are a two-for-one with the Minimed 722, which is almost entirely why I wanted it.

When I made the phone call to Minimed and explained my situation, everyone seemed rather confident that I was going to be approved by my insurance, United Healthcare. It wasn’t so much a matter of if, but when. When was the clincher and this week, the first week of December, was the supposed deadline. I was in our New York City office yesterday, so I arrived at work hoping to see a red light on my phone indicating a message. But it was dark. Crestfallen, I dove into work, but a phone call this afternoon interrupted my flow.

“Hello, this is Allison.”

It was my Minimed rep.

“I’m calling to let you know that your CGM is being shipped today.”

Ah, the sweet words of approval!

We discussed the details of the arrival of my sensors and transmitter, which should arrive at my office on Thursday, the day before my next endocrinologist appointment. While the CGM won’t do me any good for this endo appointment, I am looking forward to getting hooked up next week and beginning the process of getting my A1C down further than it has before. My last A1C was 8.1, which isn’t terrible but it was the wrong direction. I want to go down, not up. Although my highs have been more sporadic the last three months, I have still had some nasty 400s and 500s that I know will threaten to keep my A1C from budging an inch. My hope is that when I head to the Naomie Berrie Diabetes Center next spring, I’ll be confident again that I am managing my diabetes the way it should be – aware of the changes as they are happening, not after, and proactive in making changes based on consistent information. Sometimes I think stock brokers have a better idea of how the market fluctuates than I do about my own blood sugars! I’m telling you that’s just not right…

Anyway, yay for approvals! Just another thing to look forward to in this wonderful month that is December.

12 Comments
  1. December 2, 2008 3:11 PM

    Congratulations! It’s wonderful to hear of someone getting approved for a CGM without all the ridiculous hoops that so many have been through. I hope the CGM helps you achieve your goals and becomes as valuable to you as I find it. Good Luck!

  2. December 2, 2008 3:26 PM

    Awesome!

  3. December 2, 2008 6:11 PM

    Congrats! This gives me much hope as I also have UHC and am in the process of getting a CGM.

  4. December 2, 2008 6:15 PM

    Hurray for you!

  5. December 2, 2008 6:16 PM

    I’m so happy for you. I love my MiniMed CGMS. The needle is wicked long and freaks me out, but it’s worth it in the end. Be sure you get a MiniMed rep to train you. My trainer was great!

  6. December 2, 2008 6:21 PM

    Congrats! I can’t wait to hear how things go when you start using it! I am pushing for the Minimed one also.

  7. December 2, 2008 7:14 PM

    That’s awesome!
    It’s so good to see some people getting it without a huge fight!

  8. December 3, 2008 2:11 AM

    I have UHC as well. So far I have found them to be very proactive in terms of diabetes-care coverage. The Other Half and I are both T2s (so there may be some differences) — both of our testing supplies, and his oral meds, are completely covered (zero co-pay, no fighting over getting enough strips and lancets).

  9. December 3, 2008 9:52 AM

    Thanks everyone!

    Tmana: UHC is also amazing for me. However, they do limit me to 8 test strips a day. I’m not sure how many you requested, so maybe that’s why you haven’t had any issues. I initially went to them with a script for 10 strips, but they said they’d only pay for 8. I figured that was close enough and I don’t usually test that often anyway (more like 6-7) so I figured it would even out. So far I haven’t had any issues with running out before I could get more strips.

Trackbacks

  1. The Twelve: A 2008 Recap Meme « Lemonade Life
  2. Lots of Lemonade « Lemonade Life
  3. Post-Approval Blues. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.