Skip to content

A Tad Tardy.

November 23, 2008

I wasn’t supposed to blog late. I was all set to blog tonight about my trip to see Twilight tonight. And I thought I was going to be on time.

But when my friend Katie and I arrived at the movie theater, the 8:15 was sold out. Because we don’t know how to plan for opening weekend of apparently a movie that’s a really huge deal to a lot of people. So we had to settle for the 9:15 show. Turns out, this movie is also kinda long. We didn’t get out until 11:30. Then I had to drive 20 minutes back to Hoboken. Then I had to find a place to park. On the street. On a Saturday night. In a town that doesn’t have enough parking on a Sunday afternoon.

Needless to say… it took me a bit longer than expected to get home.

But the movie was great! I say this, however, as a completely non-Twilight obsessed fan. I actually had never heard of this particular series of literature until this summer, when my friend wrote in her Facebook status how excited about the fourth book she was. Then a couple months later, they were apparently releasing a movie about said series. Color me clueless.

I can’t say whether or not a Twilight fan will like it. Katie, who has read the books, said the movie was better than she expected. The actors as a whole were very intriguing looking… they did a great job casting. The dialogue and acting was better than the average teen movie, but it certainly wasn’t Oscar-worthy, so there’s that. But the filmmaking – the cinematography, that is – was incredible. Maybe a little overdone to some people, I’m sure, but I thought it was very well put together and made the whole movie a little more engaging and interesting to watch. It almost made up for the somewhat slow pace of the movie in some parts.

The movie, apparently, will have it’s due sequels. Which I think is great and personally am looking forward to. It’s nice to have a new magicalish series to get excited about, even if I don’t read the books. I’ve only read one of the Harry Potter books, but I’ve seen all the movies, and I think it might be better that way. As I was telling Katie, because I’ve never seen any of the movies, I can’t be disappointed when they leave something out or change a character or whatnot. I just watch the movie on the sole basis of how it compares to other movies of its kind. If the story intrigues me enough, I can then find out more about the story, the characters and the background, and read more about the adventures, by reading the actual book. That’s why I think it’s better to see the movie first and then read the book. Or at least wait a really long time after reading the book that you don’t remember when they leave something out.

So, this is to say, Twilight gets two full glasses of lemonade. And the parking in Hoboken gets nothing.

One Comment
  1. November 23, 2008 8:51 AM

    Glad you liked it.🙂 I went to see it as a Twilight obsessed fan. I liked it too. Read the books! They are sooooo good. I thought I would hate them and read the first one because one of my friends bought it for me.
    As for parking, well I’ve been to NYC a handful of times (okay, only 3, but still). I didn’t know there WAS parking! LOL😛

Comments are closed.