Skip to content

The Good Stuff.

November 21, 2008

I don’t usually talk about my work on this blog. Because I work in public relations, there are a lot of preparation that goes into campaigns and projects that we work on that I can’t talk about, and even when there is something I can talk about, I have been wary about making this blog too job-focused.

But every once in awhile, there something really cool happening that I must share.

For the past couple of months, I’ve been working with our Nikon team on a new campaign called Look Good In Pictures with Carson Kressley. It’s a how-to webisode series about how to look great in photos by knowing how to smile, pose and dress your best. Obviously, it stars Carson Kressley (the guy from Queer Eye for the Straight Guy and Lifetime’s How To Look Good Naked) and it’s actually really fun. I mean, Carson is hilarious, so how could it not be?

Anyway, on Wednesday, we filmed a couple of episodes of the series in New York City. The first was at the Times Square Visitor Center where regular people off the street could be photographed by a professional photographer and have their image critique in person by Carson. There were a lot of people there considering how cold it was. And I should know! For awhile I stood outside chatting with people in line, explaining to them what was going to happen, and also encouraging people off the street to check it out. Boy was it cold out!

Later that night, I went down to the Cutting Room (which is owned by Chris Noth of Sex and the City fame, but sadly he wasn’t there) to help with another webisode. We had some media coming down, including a couple of bloggers, so I was on hand to greet people and talk to them about the show. It was so much fun to see Carson in action. He is a crazy fun guy, and everyone had a great time.

Finally, when all was said and done and it was “a wrap,” Carson stayed around for awhile longer and took pictures and chatted with people.

Including me!

With Carson Kressley

With Carson Kressley

He also told me that I had great skin. Which I think means “You have great make-up.” It was funny though because about an hour earlier this girl asked me what moisturizer I use because I was “glowing.” Her words, not mine. Considering I’m as far from pregnant as you can get, all I can think of was that it must have been the lighting in the bar.

I think the picture with Carson came out well… I have that whole double chin thing going on but that’s just because I need to lose a little weight. Not much you can do about that.

Good time, good times.

13 Comments
  1. November 21, 2008 5:49 PM

    Much happier day then yesterday. See, the birds always sing after the storm.

    I heard that on NPR (story corps) this morning and I have been wanting to use it all day.😉

  2. November 21, 2008 6:13 PM

    Haha. Actually, this happened on Wednesday, so it was the day before yesterday. But today was better than yesterday as well.🙂

  3. Nicolep permalink
    November 21, 2008 7:41 PM

    That’s neat…

    Re: the double chin thing. First off, I don’t think you’ve really got one… But aside from that. There’s a trick to make it appear you don’t have one – even if you do. It’s about relaxing the mouth, holding your tongue against the back of the roof or you mouth and not holding the head up or down. It looks like your head is angled a little down in this photo (and I bet you’re not doing that tongue trick – which works wonders, seriously). That causes what you perceive to be a double chin (even though, again, I don’t really see it) to appear… Next time, smile with a relaxed mouth and hold your head level, without any downward or upward tilt… This tricked worked for me when I was a little heavier and actually had a double chin.

    Carson is a cutie.

  4. November 21, 2008 8:39 PM

    I’ve heard those tips, but you’re right, I didn’t use any of them. Shame on me! And yes, Carson is a cutie and so nice. Even though he had been working all day, he was just so excited! it was great.

  5. November 21, 2008 9:00 PM

    Very cool! Famous people in pictures with famous people! I like it!

  6. Sara permalink
    November 21, 2008 9:05 PM

    What a great photo! You guys look great and the lighting is great!

  7. November 21, 2008 9:12 PM

    Scott: Ha! I’m hardly famous, but I appreciate the sentiment.

    Sara: Thanks! I think I look a little pale, but I always look pale so that’s not really anything new.

  8. November 21, 2008 9:38 PM

    I think you look fabulous – great photo!

  9. diabeteschat permalink
    November 22, 2008 1:08 AM

    Hi,
    It sounds as if you have a really fun job! I have an award for you. Come on over to my site for the details.
    Elsa (diabeteschat.wordpress.com)

  10. November 22, 2008 1:09 AM

    That’s awesome! Great pic!

  11. November 22, 2008 1:57 PM

    Allison-

    What an awesome job you have! Sounds like a lot of fun. I would have been so jealous if you got to meet Chris Noth. If you do, you’ll have to post about it.

    I know you said you didn’t want your blog to be work related but your job sounds so interesting I would love to hear more of your adventures with it!

    ~Layne

  12. November 23, 2008 12:26 AM

    Ooooh, Carson Kressley! How cool.

    I’m filing away the no-double-chin tips, although I don’t know how much it will help me.

Trackbacks

  1. Curtains on NaBloPoMo. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.