Skip to content

Babysitting in Brooklyn.

November 15, 2008

I’m babysitting in Brooklyn tonight for another family affected by diabetes. This time it’s a 9 year old boy who was diagnosed in January and his little sister, age 5. He’s already on the pump, his parents told me, and that he’s been on it since June. It’s amazing to me that this kind of technology is so readily available now to families who are newly diagnosed. When I was diagnosed in 1994 (nearly 15 years ago), insulin pumps were mainly for adults and they were not as widely accepted. It wasn’t until 2000, a few weeks before my fifteenth birthday, that I went on the insulin pump. I had already had diabetes for 6 and a half years, and had suffered through thousands of insulin injections. This little boy is going to have the advantage of using an insulin pump, a piece of technology that will give him just a bit more freedom eat and play and experience a childhood a little closer to how it would have been without diabetes. It’s not perfect, but it’s better than how it was. In the absence of a cure, it’s better than nothing.

P.S. Yesterday, we raised $60 (minus a couple dollars for Paypal fees – boo) for Life for a Child, and I’m still expecting one or two more donations. If you didn’t donate, follow the link to the ChipIn page to help out and support children with diabetes in developing countries. Until there is a cure, they are counting on our support.

2 Comments
  1. November 16, 2008 10:01 PM

    I often think about how different my childhood would have been, had I had an insulin pump. Even how different my college experience would have been. I’m glad the children who are diagnosed today have the opportunity to have such wonderful technology.

  2. November 17, 2008 7:57 PM

    My brother got his insulin pump at age 6 or 7, so in 1996 or 1997. He was diagnosed at 3, so he’d had diabetes for 3-4 years. He was one of the youngest people to go on the pump at that time, I believe.

    I got my insulin pump at 15, also, but I had only been diabetic for 2 years at that point.

Comments are closed.