Skip to content

World Diabetes Day!

November 14, 2008

Today is World Diabetes Day! It’s also the second year it’s been recognized by the United Nations as the first noncommunicable disease passed as a resolution. It’s exciting to see so many places recognize the disease and the overwhelming need we have to cure it and support those who are living with it with medication and education.

In that spirit, today my friend Amanda Mooney (a fellow digital PR practitioner over at Edelman) has selected the Life for a Child project as the $5 Friday
Twitter Challenge
of the week.

EDIT: The Life for a Child donate section isn’t working, please donate use the ChipIn page.

Just donate $5 (or however much you want) to Life for a Child and then send a message to @amandamooney or join the $5 Friday Twitter Challenge on Facebook and let her know you participated. You can also tweet me or leave a comment here saying you donated and I will post the total amount we raised tomorrow.

wdd_logo_en_200px

I’m heading over to the ESPN Zone in Times Square later this afternoon for the JDRF/Novo Nordisk/Discovery Health Youth Forum. I’ll have a more detailed write-up tomorrow. Feel free to follow me on Twitter as I tweet some “fun” facts about diabetes, as well as tweeting the Youth Forum event. Even if you don’t have a Twitter account, you can read it all at www.twitter.com/amblass.

Have a wonderful World Diabetes Day!

One Comment
  1. November 14, 2008 12:09 PM

    Allison,

    Reading about this, I wish I could be in New York today!

    I’m sure you’ll have many inspiring moments to share.

    Enjoy!

Comments are closed.