Skip to content

Transitions (D-Blog Day Post)

November 9, 2008

This is my fourth D-blog Day post. I started blogging back in the summer of 2005, as a 19-almost-20-year-old college student between her sophomore and junior year in college. It seems like such a long time ago, even though it’s only been three years. But so much in my life has changed, from living in a college town in the middle of Oregon to starting a new life in the New York City metropolitan area, and I feel blessed that I have had the opportunity to record most of it here at Lemonade Life, first at Blogger and now WordPress.

The Online Community has grown in leaps and bounds and it’s not gone unnoticed. From the growth of TuDiabetes to 5,000 members in just a year and a half to our own blogging community adding new members left and right. On one hand, it’s not a happy thing to have new members. Because that means there are more people with diabetes. But on the other hand, until the day when there’s a cure, I’m thrilled to bits that I can be part of a resource that is helping people. There really is no better reward, no better opportunity, no better challenge than to take something like diabetes and turn it into something good.

I find it slightly inappropriate these days to refer to my diabetes community as the Diabetes Online Community, because my diabetes community has transitioned to a very vibrant offline community. Although I haven’t met everyone yet (don’t worry, I’m working on it!), I have had the priviledge of hosting five diabetes meet-ups in the past year: New York 1, Delaware, Philadelphia, Orlando, Washington D.C. and New York 2. Plus there have been several other one-on-one meet-ups and the Boston event hosted by Bernard. This community, I am happy to report, is no longer held hostage by my computer, but exists in free-form in the real world. I have a community of supporters wherever I go. People that I can call my friends in all four corners of the world. It’s a very unique gift that God has given me, and I don’t take it for granted. Thank you being part of my community. The diversity of this group has taught me so much about the world and about myself. I am forever grateful.

dblog-08-lg

10 Comments
  1. November 9, 2008 4:21 PM

    I agree that “DOC” doesn’t seem to quite cover it once you’ve met a few folks. Speaking of which, I saw Gina’s pics from the Promise Ball, and I’d love to see a full-length of the dress you were wearing – it looks beautiful! – so I hope you’ll have pictures to share too🙂
    Happy D-Blag Day!

  2. November 9, 2008 5:52 PM

    A lovely post, Allison. And what an incredible journey you’ve had these last three years.

    Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

    Happy D-Blog Day!

  3. November 9, 2008 5:57 PM

    Happy D-Blog day! Great post Allison – looking forward to the day when we can hang out and visit in real life too.

  4. November 9, 2008 6:24 PM

    Happy D-Blog Day Allison!

    Sometimes I feel a bit sad that I’m so far away from so many bloggers in real life. It was, of course, great to meet you in London and certainly made the community feel that bit closer to me.

    When the physical distances are wide, at least the internet has no borders.

  5. November 9, 2008 8:02 PM

    Happy D-Blog Day!

  6. November 9, 2008 9:28 PM

    Thanks Allison, Happy D-Blog Day! I’m new to the diabetes on-line community and blogging in general. You’ven inspired me to keep at it.

    Jeannie Baellow
    http://www.youtube.com/user/diabetesmiracle

  7. November 9, 2008 10:08 PM

    HAPPY D-BLOG DAY😉
    k2

  8. November 9, 2008 11:30 PM

    Happy D-Blog Day. Thanks for doing so much in the Diabetes coimmunity and taking the time to share your life with me and everyone. I wish you long life and health.

  9. November 10, 2008 9:25 AM

    Happy D-Blog Day, to someone who really helped get this community started!!

  10. Sara permalink
    November 10, 2008 4:26 PM

    Happy D-Blog Day!

    Can you tell I am working my way backwards through the DD headlines?😉

Comments are closed.