Skip to content

Rain, Rain, Go Away

November 8, 2008

While I don’t usually admit this, Oregon’s relentless winter rain is one of the reasons I chose to leave last summer. I came to the East Coast and although I suffer through two other unfortunate weather patterns (snow and humidity), sunny winter afternoons have become one of my absolute favorite things.

Today isn’t one of them.

It’s gray and drizzly outside. Raindrops shift from small and light to thick and pounding, the kind that belly-flop on your skin. Unlike most days, the Empire State Building is completely cloaked in a thick, gray cloud. Almost like New York City has disappeared, abandoned me for a warmer climate. The colored leaves and brick buildings, which are usually vibrant in the sun, seem sad and worn.

I hate the rain. In Oregon, rain can last for days, and cloudy weather almost never leaves. I often joke that Oregonians can detect 32 different shades of gray. There are a few blue-sky days sprinkled (ha – pun!) throughout the rain-soaked weeks, keeping most of us from completely losing our minds. Seasonal affective disorder – or S.A.D., a fitting acronym – is common in the Pacific Northwest and although I won’t claim to suffer from it, there is a bit of listlessness that comes from gray, wet days. Everything looks so uninviting and there’s an enormous amount of preparation and mental encouragement that is required when venturing outdoors. Which leaves most people lounging on the coach (or the Internet, as the case may be) and that usually leaves one groggy and bored. Not a good combination.

Tomorrow, it’s supposed to be sunny. It’s supposed to be sunny the day after that, and the day after that, and the day after that.

But not today.

2 Comments
  1. November 8, 2008 8:50 PM

    I think I might have S.A.D. Cause I used to get really down during the winter time. This past winter wasn’t too bad though and I think it might have something to do with my doctor putting me in Vitamin D (for diabetes related stuff).
    My town was cloaked in that foggy grey mass of cloud stuff for most of yesterday. It’s kind of depressing.😛

  2. November 9, 2008 10:00 PM

    I spent a fair amount of time in the Willamette Valley, where rumor has it, it rains CONSTANTLY. Compared with my years living in Central Oregon – that was true. I started to fee mildly depressed in the rainy winter months and would get frustrated with the effects of the humidity and rain on my hair.

    Then I moved to Juneau, Alaska. We had a solid 33 days straight of precipitation this fall. One of those days included three inches of snow, but mostly it was gray and rainy. If I knew 32 shades of gray before, I must know at least 64 now.

    Why we all tolerate this horrid weather is a regular topic of discussion but it comes down to those few sunny days, the community, the arts, the opportunities to enjoy oneself. Maybe it was an economic reason that brought people here, or to the Willamette Valley, or to any of these places originally, but what keeps us here?

    What’s something without which you wouldn’t stick around through the terrible weather?

Comments are closed.