Skip to content

Day One

November 1, 2008

Last year I decided to make an attempt at writing one blog post everyday for an entire month. All 30 days of November. Considering I have a difficult time coming up with material for everyday of the week, I was fairly convinced that I wouldn’t be able to do it. But throw in a handful of memes, a bout of homesickness and The Angry Eye, I managed to come up with a few things to talk about other than diabetes.

Which brings me to this thought: Every so often, I get enormously, ridiculously, out-of-control SICK TO DEATH of talking about diabetes. I mean, seriously, how many times can I tell a story about being low or going high before contemplating writing “You remember the last time I was low? It was just like that.”

I once wrote, perhaps ironically, that I am more than diabetes.

But based on this blog, you probably couldn’t really tell that, huh? I probably seem to most people to be completely obsessed with talking about my chronic illness when in reality it’s probably the last thing I ever talk about with people (unless they ask). Granted, this blog is the place where I am supposed to feel safe in talking about my medical condition and not worry about people thinking I’m a crazy person obsessed with blood and needles. But sometimes I think I need a little bit more balance in my life.

So while this is National Diabetes Month and World Diabetes Day is just around the corner (more on my plans on Monday), I think I’m going to take the opportunity in the coming weeks to talk a little bit more about who I am, my experiences, my beliefs, my critiques on life that usually stay captive inside my head because I simply don’t have time to devote to a second blog. Diabetes has played a huge role in how I view my life, but my life has also played a huge role in how I view my diabetes and hopefully this month I’ll be able to give people a better picture of me. Likewise, I hope that it will also give me an opportunity to learn more about you. We are more than our blood sugar readings, our bolus ratios and our A1C levels.

Welcome to National Diabetes Month. Here’s an up close and personal look at a girl who happens to have diabetes.

3 Comments
  1. November 3, 2008 11:16 PM

    This is the main reason why I never had a diabetes-oriented blog, even though I’ve been in the blogosphere since I was about 12 or 13 (when it was all so shiny and new!). While I identify with other diabetics rather strongly, Diabetes is not my entire life. (Nor anyone’s!) Thus my blog has always been more about random things that I think of, observe, or hear about in class, at work, or on the news. While I’ve mentioned Diabetes a few times before (you can click the “Diabetes” tag to list them all, there’s not very many) it never was and never will be the center of a website for me.

    I actually really admire you and all the other Diabetic bloggers who talk to so much about it! It’s really great to get the word out, support others, and raise awareness. By the way, I’m thinking about coming to the thing with you on World Diabetes Day if I can get out class. (My teacher has already threatened to fail me if I was absent one more time because I’m over the “max allowed.” [only 4] But I’m hoping that if I talk to him about the day and how important it is for me he’ll let me skip out.)

  2. Jeannie permalink
    November 7, 2008 2:33 PM

    I can so identify with being sick to death of talking about diabetes. I’ve had it for 10 years and recently found out I am probably a type 1.5 i.e, I was a type 1 when diagnosed at age 44 so lost about 30 lbs then and took oral meds…to no avail, then started injected insulin and gained lots of weight, and voila…type 2 insulin resistant. I NEVER imagined that at age 54 I would undergo an experience that would change my life, my health and my way of thinking. I’ve started a fully vegan diet, carb counting and exercising daily. I was absolutley to the point of having decided to put the brakes on this disease if there was any way possible…I was so sick of myself and the daily stuggle to control the blood sugars that were controlling my life.

    I read the book The 30 Day Diabetes Miracle and it just sounded like dang good sense. Since the first week of Oct., I’ve lost about 15 pounds, and my energy and mobility have increased so much. I don’t like sweating either, but I’ve starated going to the gym at least 3X a week. For those days that I just can’t get there, I got one of those bouncy balls, some resistance bands and an instructional CD so I can work out in front of the t.v. I also got a yoga CD…so when I start going to class, I will kind of know what’s going on.

    Anyway…I’m not a blogging expert, but wanted to share my experience because I’m so inspired by the changes happening. Yes, it’s hard to find the time to get to the gym, prepare whole food meals, test routinely, and meet the demands of a work day, but I’ve decided to invest in extreme self-care so that I can function in all areas of my life…to ensure I have a life. At 54, with my new diet and exercise, that jiggily waddle under my chin is almost dissappeared and I’m seeing some definition in my upper arms. Most encouraging of all, in less than 1-month, my insulin in-take has been cut in half and I’m off my blood pressure and cholesterol meds.

    In my former life, before the 30 Day Diabetes Miracle, I had been tagged by an endocrinologist as the most brittle diabetic he had ever seen. I have had several diabetic seizures…one while driving, and the other in my own kitchen where I knocked myself out on my new tile floor and gave myself a concussion.

    My new diet and lifestle are working for me and I’m happier, healthier and more confident than I’ve been in years and I wanted to share it with you, in case anything I’ve experienced could help you too. I never thought I would gain this kind of momentum toward my health and happiness goals.

    Peace and health to all…Jeannie

  3. January 1, 2009 5:58 PM

    A friend forwarded your blog because he noticed that Jeannie had read The 30 Day Diabetes Miracle. I’m responding because I am one of the authors and am heartened by Jeannie’s good outcome. I am convinced that for most of those who have been classified as prediabetic that diabetes is no more than a decision. It is possible to decide to never succomb to the diagnosis. My father in law died at age 99.6 this year. He was diabetic at Jeannie’s age and implemented the plan she has adopted. His disease disappeared as evidenced by normal blood sugars. It reappeared to times during the remainder of his life; both times he was in the hospital because of trauma. Hospital food is diabetogenic as is the inactivity.

    Jeannie, best wishes for a great 2009 with excellent results with your diabetes.

    Franklin House MD
    Coauthor The 30 Day Diabetes Miracle

Comments are closed.