Skip to content

What’s the Indian word for “bolus-worthy”?

October 23, 2008

I have to admit, I love Indian food.

Love, love, love.

When I work in our NYC office, I almost always have lunch at this Indian place called Utsav that has a great takeaway Indian buffet for only $10. I love tandoori chicken, curry chicken, chicken masala, aloo mutter, aloo gobi, paneer, naan and mango lassis. Everything. It’s delicious. Sometimes I think I was an Indian in a past life (if I believed in past lives… which I don’t… but I digress).

I also love Thai food. Peanut chicken, pad thai, thai iced teas. And I love Italian food, and I love French food, and I love Ethiopian food…

Honestly, I just like food, but ethnic foods seem to be the ones I crave more than anything.

Ethnic food seems to cause a lot of people grief when it comes to counting carbs. I mean, what exactly is masala anyway? And what is it that makes thai iced teas so sweet? I never know… I often find myself guesstimating and then paying the price later.

For people who eat ethnic foods, do you tend to eat the same entrees over and over? It’s starting to work out for me. I think I’ve nailed Thai and especially if I lay off all the jasmine rice.

But Indian food will always be totally bolus-worthy.🙂

5 Comments
  1. Lili permalink
    October 23, 2008 3:16 PM

    Isn’t Thai iced tea made with sweetened condensed milk? I don’t have a such a hard time with ethnic food, although I kind of resent the massive boluses for American Chinese food. All those hidden carbs.

  2. October 23, 2008 3:29 PM

    I love Indian and Thai too. Luckily I like eating the same entree over and over and I don’t really eat rice.

    It takes me a while to figure out the bolus, but once I get it right, things work out pretty well. I only have problems if I have some fruity cocktail with dinner.

  3. October 23, 2008 4:13 PM

    The naan kills me, mostly because I eat too much of it, not because there’s something inherently bad about it. It’s bread and I shouldn’t pig out on it. I don’t eat Indian anywhere near as much as I’d like because the husband isn’t that into it. We have a good friend who’s Indian, and I love going to her house for family events and gatherings, especially if her mom or other family is going to be there because they always bring such yummy food. I do like to try different things though, and I try to fill up more on meat and veggies since they won’t wreak havoc like some other things will. I tend to not eat too much in a sitting, most of the time anyway, so that usually saves my BG from major damage. Since we don’t eat out that often, I’m OK taking my chances and guesstimating. If I end up chasing a high, I’m never thrilled about it, but it’s not like I do it on a regular basis, and most of the time, my guesstimates are pretty good anyway.

    I’m very rambley…. I think my BG is low….

  4. tmana permalink
    October 24, 2008 1:12 AM

    It makes it difficult to be spontaneous, but if you acquired cookbooks for the different cuisines, you might be able to get a leg up on the various sauces that have hidden sugars and hidden sodium that could wreak havoc with control. You can also ask the waiter what is in the dish, and estimate based on physical size — though that’s sometimes a bit challenging. Because I have sodium issues, I pretty much always have to get the “steamed” menus (or put up with elevated postprandial bg, swollen calves, and higher weight the next two or three days). These days, I cook ethnic in more than I eat it out.

  5. October 24, 2008 12:00 PM

    I’m a Mexican food junkie and always end up paying for it with high BG afterward. I’ve eaten a few dishes enough to get the bolus for them down but sometimes it’s crap shoot.

Comments are closed.