Skip to content

Readjusting

October 6, 2008

I’ve been back in the States for about a week, and I’m finally starting to feel like myself again.

No – not jet-lag.

I came down with a pretty awful cold that I had to fight through all last week. I was had a sore throat and was so congested I usually woke up half an hour before my alarm was set to go off because I couldn’t breathe! That’s not exactly the wake up call I’m looking for. My social schedule didn’t help much either. I spent Wednesday and Thursday in the city. Not for work, but for some social engagements in the evening. On Wednesday, JDRF’s Young Leadership Committee held a happy hour. It’s was raining and cold out, so I didn’t really feel like going but I figured since I had trekked into the city just for that I might as well go. It was decent enough. The peach martinis were yummy and people were nice enough, but I didn’t know anyone and there didn’t seem to be a lot of people who knew that much about diabetes. Most people I met just happened to be someone who is on the committee. It was fun, just not what I was expecting.

Then on Thursday, I went to another happy hour over on Ninth Ave with a few people from work and our guest of honor, Peter Shankman. Most of you probably don’t know who he is, but for those of you who do, yes, it was amazing. Check out Help A Reporter Out to get a sense of why he’s so cool. Doesn’t hurt that he called a car for me to drive me home rather than have me navigate the subway system at 11:30 p.m.

I crashed on Saturday and didn’t do much except watch television, buy groceries (since I had purchased any since well before my England trip, I was practically starving!) unpack and do laundry. It was a very restful yet productive day.

The Manhattan Walk to Cure Diabetes was on Sunday and I decided to brave the clouds and go. Unfortunately, the PATH emergency drill totally through off my spidey sense and I ended up arriving in Manhattan late. I thought I’d meet the walkers by the Brooklyn Bridge instead of Battery Park, and hopefully meet up with Scott Strumello, but unfortunately that just didn’t pan out and I managed to forget to bring his cell number with me (I haven’t yet transfered all the numbers into my iPhone). It was still a nice walk and certainly a good way to get off my butt!

Since the day wasn’t going entirely to plan, I decided to kill a few hours until church by going to a movie. I went to see How to Lose Friends and Alienate People, which – while not as good as it could have been – was pretty hilarious. More of a rental, but still worth the two hours. Then I went down to Soho to buy some make-up and then it was off to church.

Pretty much my weekend re-cap. I’m planning on heading into the city again on Friday to check out the TODAY Show’s Diabetes Fair. It’s literally 3 blocks from our NYC office so I figured it would be worth going. I’ll report back on how silly/super it is. The things I do in the name of blog material…

2 Comments
  1. October 7, 2008 10:21 AM

    Sorry to hear you were feeling bad!! Colds can take just about everything from you!! Hope you are feeling much better now!!

  2. October 7, 2008 11:27 AM

    Thanks Suzanne! I am definitely feeling a lot better. Still some coughing but overall doing a lot better.

Comments are closed.