Skip to content

Diabetes 2.0

October 2, 2008

The Diabetes Research Institute is holding their annual diabetes research conference on Saturday, October 25 in New York City.

Among the usual topics of updated research and technology, there will be sessions on diabetes and exercise, the diabetes police, and diabetes burnout, which brings a more well-rounded look at living with diabetes. There is also an lunch panel with Amy Tenderich and Jeff Hitchcock, among others. After the conference, attendees will be invited to a small cocktail reception where we can meet each other and chat.

In addition, if you are attending this conference and are staying for the evening, I am inviting any and all to have dinner with me after the conference in Manhattan. As usual, I don’t disclose locations publicly, but please contact me at amblass [@] gmail.com if you are coming to the conference and would like more information about a dinner outing.

Although this doesn’t exactly fulfill our dream of having an adults with diabetes conference (don’t worry I haven’t given up on it yet!), it does get us a little bit closer by having a major organization recognize the fact that type 1 diabetes does not just affect parents and children. My hope is that the interest and attendance for this conference will show potential sponsors that a future conference would have a really great turn-out.

If you are in the New York City area or would like to come down for the day (c’mon, it’s the Big Apple! Who wouldn’t?!), please visit their website to register or receive more information. I’ll be attending and I can’t wait to see everyone!

8 Comments
  1. October 2, 2008 11:58 AM

    *Sigh* Wish I could go, if only it were in/near Chicago…:( Oh well. Don’t give up on the dream, I would LOVE to meet other DOC bloggers and other adults with type 1 diabetes!

  2. October 2, 2008 12:07 PM

    Hmmm… Manhattan intimidates me especially since I’ve never been solo, but that’s pretty tempting….

  3. sri permalink
    October 2, 2008 12:58 PM

    I’m going to be there that weekend. Looking forward to the blogger meet/dinner!

  4. October 2, 2008 2:29 PM

    Kathy: I know it’s far, but hopefully someday soon!

    Lee Ann: You had BETTER be there. And yes, that is a threat.

    Sri: Can’t wait to see you again! Will email you with the deets about a week prior.

  5. October 2, 2008 8:36 PM

    NYC isn’t the center of the world..or even the US!

  6. October 3, 2008 8:11 AM

    SL: I know some people don’t like the fact a lot of events are in NYC, but the fact of the matter is that none of the major cities in the U.S. are the center of the world of the center of the U.S., so I don’t really see how that proves a point. I did not choose this location.

  7. October 5, 2008 5:24 AM

    Oh, that would be fun! Unfortunately I can’t take the time (although I’m craving a weekend NYC getaway). Looks like a good conference. Looking forward to reading about it!

  8. October 7, 2008 11:00 PM

    duh. I will be there. I am sure you are sending me info about dinner afterwards haha

Comments are closed.