Skip to content

Packing Up.

September 18, 2008

I’m pretty sure if I wasn’t a diabetic, my suitcase would be about twenty pounds lighter. Seriously, if you looked inside my bag, you’d swear I was going on some kind of six-month sabbatical to England, off to ponder philosophy and literature in the halls of Oxford.

Or not.

I have a 100 test strips, an extra glucose meters, an extra full bottle (in raspberry, the only flavor I can tolerate), entire box of silhouettes, 10 IV preps, 10 alcohol swabs, five reservoirs (they are reusable if you just screw the cap and plunger back on and I didn’t want to have to open an entirely new box just to get four more), a half opened bottles of Humalog, one completely full bottle of Humalog still in its original box, thirty syringes and a bottle of Lantus.

But that’s not all! In my purse is my regular glucose meter with a full container of test strips, an extra bottle of test strips, plus a silhouette, IV prep, alcohol swab, a reservoir, another half opened bottle of Humalog, a roll of glucose tabs and a Hi-C juice box.

And my wallet, sunglasses, iPhone, keys and lipgloss.

And a partridge in a pear tree.

How is it diabetics are not suffering from chronic back aches as a complication for having diabetes? Because I’m going to need some serious chiropractic work after this trip!

I’m pretty sure I could stay an extra week or three in London and wouldn’t even notice! Maybe I’m being overly cautious but I have had to purchase a glucose meter and test strips in France and man oh man is it inconvenient. Luckily this time I’m in a country where I speak the language, but still.

No pain, no gain, right?

7 Comments
  1. Lili permalink
    September 18, 2008 11:06 PM

    Whenever I go somewhere where someone has to lift my purse, they say things like, “what’s in there?” and “you don’t need that much stuff!” I always just smile and laugh. Yeah, I wish I didn’t!

  2. September 19, 2008 6:56 AM

    I’m an overpacker by nature. And I swear it’s diabetes’ fault!😀

  3. September 19, 2008 7:26 AM

    Yeah, I always take too much stuff with me, too. But after begging outside a locked CVS for the pharmacist to let me in to buy a bottle of Humalog, I’d rather have too much than not enough.

  4. September 19, 2008 8:28 AM

    I love overpacking.

    Because when you’re riding through the desert, you’re guaranteed that wherever you stop to sleep, the insulin will freeze, and then melt far too quickly and fry like an egg.

    Oh well! What are you gonna do about it?

  5. September 19, 2008 8:37 AM

    As diabetics, airlines should absolutely allow to have a 3rd carry-on bag, just for the portable pharmacy that we have no choice but to carry!
    Have a great time in England – Pub sandwiches are great!
    k2

  6. September 19, 2008 12:18 PM

    I suffer from the over prepaid packing syndrome, too. Have a safe trip and enjoy!

  7. September 26, 2008 6:26 AM

    Your entry on packing will be tremendously helpful for all diabetics. I feel for you though but your optimism is contagious. Yes, it is a myth that type 1 diabetics are non-compliant and you are a perfect example so much so that I would like to interview you and feature a web page on you in my website. We can do the interview online. I can send you an email with the questions and you can take your time answering them. If it is not possible, it’s okay too.

    Evelyn Guzman
    Free Diabetes
    Alert

Comments are closed.