Skip to content

Oops, I Forgot/Underestimated/Ignored It Again!

September 10, 2008

I think the thing that gets to me the most about living with diabetes is just how dumb I can be sometimes.

I mean, really dumb. I’m talking about those “WTF? I went up 300 points without eating/drinking/doing anything!” moments or even those “I know I shouldn’t eat this but I’m going to anyway” moments. I’m talking about those “Oh yeah… I did eat/drink/do that…oops.” I’ve probably thought “Oops, I did it again!” more times than Z100 played that god-awful song back when it was a Top 40 hit. And that’s saying a lot!

It’s stilly, too. It’s not like testing my blood sugar or counting carbohydrates is new. I’ve been a diabetic for nearly fifteen years – 2/3 of my LIFE. The other night, I was driving home from having dinner with my cousins when I stopped for a snack. I bolused appropriately, but when I got home about thirty minutes later, my blood sugar was 78. I check my pump and I saw that I had 7 units on board. Freaking out that I had insulin on board, was low and about to go to bed, I decided to have juice and a couple of graham crackers. Five hours later and I woke up nauseated and a dry mouth like I had just crawled through the Sahara desert. My blood sugar was over 400 mg/dl! You know why? My snack was fairly high fat (I had stopped at Burger King… shhh, don’t tell!) and it probably hadn’t finished kicking in. Did I actually stop to think about why I had seven units of insulin on board? Of course not! That would make sense.

Sometimes I think the most frustrating thing about diabetes is just how much I hate having to think about it, so I do these knee-jerk reactions and end up gulping down water at four o’clock in the morning and then feeling like I’m hung-over when my alarm clock goes off.

There are plenty of other moments like this that I’ve had and I’m sure you have them too. One of the most embarassing moments came when I was in college and I drove to all the way to work – TWENTY MILES from home – before I realized my insulin pump was still sitting on my bathroom counter. Or hey, anyone remember my “oops, I’m not plugged in!” moment from last June. Embarassing and painful!

Do you have an embarassing “Oops!” moments you’d like to share? Misery loves company!

5 Comments
  1. September 10, 2008 4:27 PM

    Oh man. Too many to remember them all, that’s for sure!

  2. September 10, 2008 5:33 PM

    Just had one. BG of 330.😦

  3. September 10, 2008 5:51 PM

    Bless your heart. I’ve been there too many times to count. After 23 years of diabetes you’d think we wouldn’t forget stuff like this but we do.
    On time I stopped at Sonic and got a 44oz Diet Limeade. (No cherry, thanks!). I love those things and they are my happy drink. There’s only like 8 grams of carbs in the whole thing from some fresh lemons they put on the top.
    Well, I’m with friends riding around town, drinking my limeade and I start to feel a little funny. I checked. In the span of about 2 hours I had shot up to 438!! Yikes! Turns out the Sonic mad a screw up and did a REGULAR Limeade.
    I was ticked, but didn’t say anthing to the Sonic. Mostly I just chased high blood sugars until the next day.

  4. Terry Keelan permalink
    September 10, 2008 7:24 PM

    I just started a thread on this at tuDiabetes. I check my BG, the meter sends the reading to the pump, I see the reading on the pump and then . . .

    . . . my BG is 300 two hours later. Why? My theory is that since I saw the number on the pump, I assumed I bolused.

    Damn.

  5. Autumn permalink
    September 16, 2008 2:39 PM

    My favorite is forgetting to turn off the suspend mode on my pump after I plug it back in after my shower. There’s nothing like rolling into work assuming the “beep” was the 2 hour “Hey check your blood sugar” beep and then realizing no, that was the “Hey, stupid. I’ve been trying to get your attention for the past half hour, turn me back on so I can do my job of keeping you alive” beep.

Comments are closed.