Skip to content

Catching Up

September 3, 2008

Wow. It’s been a whole week since I last blogged. I don’t think I’ve ever gone that long… I know it’s bad to call out when a blogger hasn’t blogged, but seriously, that’s a really long time for me.

Anyway.

I’ve been busy. Work has been insane, and while I can’t talk much about it (working on a confidential project… shhhh…) it’s been keeping me on my toes so much of the day I haven’t had a chance to take a break and blog! When I get home, I mostly work on freelance and then my brain is so fried the thought of recapping my day sounds almost painful. So here are some reader-friendly bullet points:

  • My post-appointment weeks have been slow going in getting my blood sugars under control. I’m suffering from a bad set right now and I have 2 hours until I can get home and change it. Actually, I should have changed it this morning because I woke up at over 300 – which NEVER happens unless I either forget to bolus for something or my set is bad. Since I know I didn’t forget to bolus, it must be the set. However, I’m definitely seeing a lot more 100s and I’ve even made it back to the gym a handful of times, which is a significant improvement compared to my two month absence this summer.
  • I’m plugging along with my Walk to Cure Diabetes campaign. I only managed to raise $1100 in 23 days, but today I hit $1300, which means I only have $1000 to go to reach my goal of $2300. I have a little more than a month until the Walk in Manhattan – I really hope I can do it! If you are interested in donating, even if it’s only $10, please click here!
  • When I was at the CWD conference in July, I had the chance to meet some wonderful ladies who have launched products for people with diabetes. Unlike the big, anonymous conglomerations, these founders are deeply invested in the diabetes community. All of them have a family member with diabetes, and in most cases, they have a child with the disease. I interviewed them for a round-up piece on diabetes start-ups for Diabetes Health, and it’s online now. Check it out!
  • I’ve been introduced by a blogger friend via email to another girl who just moved to NYC this summer. I checked out her blog, which she uses to keep in touch with her family, and saw her mention the name of a really cool church in the city. I’ve been bouncing around churches here in Hoboken for a few weeks now, and nothing really seems to stick. They’re nice – but they’re so small. This church is small compared to Imago Dei, but large enough that it has activities and community groups outside of the service. I only have 2 years until my 101 Things Challenge ends, so I’m hoping I can find a church I like enough to stick with it for awhile. If you’re interested in knowing which church it is, let me know, but I have a personal policy not to post places that I plan to go, only places that I’ve been (and unfortunately, it would be really easy to figure out where I’ll be with the website). Edit: Sara brought up that my next point contradicts this one, so I’ll clarify by saying I don’t post or tweet specific locations, such as restaurants or museums, that I plan on going to. Cities and countries, I think, are fair game. If you want to meet me that badly, just ask!
  • Only two weeks and two days until I leave for England! I am so freaking excited. I have booked my hostel in Bath, I have my itinerary for the Jane Austen Festival mapped out and everything is confirmed for me to stay with my friend in London. I still need to call my doctor and pick up a Lantus prescription, in case my pump breaks, and make sure I have enough syringes with me. I’ve traveled overseas with diabetes before and it’s really not much different than traveling in the States as long as you have back-up supplies. I’m mean, this is England, not Africa, and I already know two diabetics in London in case anything happens. I’m hoping the weather holds out for me, but I am really looking forward to taking an actual vacation. I don’t have to entertain anyone or have any meetings or learn about anything. Total relaxation. It will. be. AWESOME.

9 Comments
  1. Sara permalink
    September 3, 2008 4:14 PM

    Doesn’t point #5 defeat your rule about point #4?😉

  2. September 3, 2008 4:21 PM

    Sara,

    London is a very big city, and even Bath is pretty big and I won’t even be in the city the whole time I’m there. Also, I didn’t post where my hostel is, what my itinerary in Bath is (such as which events I’m going to) or anything about my sightseeing schedule in London or even who the friend I’m staying with is. I have posted about which cities I’m going to in the past – it’s posting specific locations where people could actually find me that concerns me. It would be a lot easier to find me at this church, where there’s a specific meeting time, then to try hunting me down in Bath with thousands of other tourists during a festival.

  3. Sara permalink
    September 3, 2008 6:25 PM

    The winking icon means that it was a joke!😀

    P.S. I’ve been to both London and Bath. In fact, I spent a summer over there during college. Be sure to check out Lush for fun Bath and Body Works type products.

  4. September 3, 2008 6:57 PM

    Sara,

    Sometimes it’s hard to tell online! Anyway, that’s cool – I think I’ve seen Lush stores here in the U.S. too. If you have any other suggestions, please let me know!

  5. Lee permalink
    September 4, 2008 4:59 AM

    I live in Africa. And I pump.🙂

  6. September 4, 2008 8:13 AM

    Lee,

    I actually know a few people in Africa with diabetes, and a couple who pump as well. Obviously, that was a reference to the fact I am not visiting someplace remote. Actually, funny story, I was in Paris a few summers ago and my meter broke. It took me, like, 3 hours before I found a pharmacy that sold a meter I could actually use. So, even in “developed” countries getting the right medical supplies can be a challenge!

  7. Lee permalink
    September 4, 2008 9:00 AM

    I agree… I have never been to the States, but have visited and lived in Europe. Have been lucky that nothing has ever gone wrong with my pump while travelling (just the levels lol). I have however felt in some instances when living there that where I live is less remote, with in a lot of cases much better medical treatment / care available. Of course, this is not always the case… I hope you have a good time in London! One of my favourite cities to visit.

    Been enjoying reading you blog for the past +/- 3 years!

    L

  8. September 4, 2008 9:38 AM

    Lee,

    It’s always a pleasure “meeting” a reader, especially a longtime reader like yourself. Glad you’ve stuck around! Any chance we’ll see you blogging?

  9. Lee permalink
    September 5, 2008 2:26 AM

    I did try blogging once… but it was short lived… The thought of starting again has crossed my mind, so will have to see! I like the “closeness” one feels when reading (and sharing in) other people’s experiences with diabetes (and other things in life of course!) – just makes you feel a little less alone in all of this🙂 I envy the bloggers and forum users in other countries who arrange face-to-face meetings… No matter how much people say they understand, or can understand what it is like, only a fellow PWD can ever really understand!

    One of my favourite museums in London is the British Museum – be sure to visit it! And visit some crazy busy markets over the weekend🙂

Comments are closed.