Skip to content

A Walk in the Park

August 18, 2008

I spent a lovely, lazy afternoon in the New York City this past Saturday. Although the temperature read 82 degrees, I swear our wonderful, balmy weather could not have been any higher than 78. There was a soothing breeze and not a drop of humidity in the air, which is the closest thing I’ve felt to an Oregon summer day in quite some time (which is kind of ironic since Oregon has been seeing blistering temperatures of over 100 degrees for the past few days – Oregon typically sees one or two heat waves during the summer, so this isn’t unusual).

I took the 6 train up to 77th Street and then walked over to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, which is near one of the entrances to Central Park. I perused through the exhibit of photographs that were taken over 100 years ago. One photographer had a couple of photographs that were taken of landscapes in Oregon, including one of Multnomah Falls, which is less than an hour away from where I grew up and is one of the more famous natural landmarks in our state. It was amazing to see such an old picture of it and yet it looks exactly the same. I also browsed the collection of French furniture and artwork on the first floor, which reminded me of my trip to France a few years ago and the elaborate and colorful rooms at Versaille.

I took the elevator up to the Rooftop Gardens where there was a small collection of some very interesting sculptures from Jeff Koons.

Rooftop Garden at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

It’s a giant balloon animal, right?

But what really struck me about being on top of the museum was the incredible view of Central Park and the skyline of midtown Manhattan.

Central Park and Midtown

The picture really doesn’t do it justice. You really have to experience it for yourself.

After lunch, a staggering low – oh how much fun it is to drop after taking six units of insulin! – and viewing the Jeff Koons collection, I made my way across Central Park and down Columbus Avenue to the uptown branch of Magnolia Bakery. Diehard Sex and the City fans will recognize this name. It apparently made several appearances in the show (while I have seen the show, they’ve all been the reruns on TBS because I was, what, nine when the show aired? Something like that) and the Bleecker street store is now mobbed routinely by fans of the show. I opted to try Magnolia’s on Columbus in hopes that it would be less crowded. There was definitely a line, but it took only five or so before I reached the cashier. They have the most delicious cupcakes, so it’s a challenge to choose just one. I saw many people buying packs of four cupcakes, but I figured one was enough damage for me.

I took my cupcake and an iced coffee and walked back over to Central Park where I gave my very sore feet a break from all my walking. Despite the gorgeous weather, the park didn’t seem excessively crowded, so I found a nice spot on top of a small hill overlooking one of the paths. I watched cyclists and runners whizz past families and small children. As I walked through the park to the Columbus Circle subway station, I passed old married couples sitting together on the park benches and it was just so nice.

Honest to goodness one of the most relaxing days I’ve had in a very, very long time. With the chaos that is work and adjusting to my new apartment, it was another great reminder of why I love living here.

4 Comments
  1. August 18, 2008 3:43 PM

    Hi Allison,

    Great photos! Just reading about your calm day was soothing. Glad you had fun… and… a cupcake!

  2. August 18, 2008 5:07 PM

    We’ve had glorious clouds in our neck of the woods, so I can imagine (a little) what you skyline view looked like. Sounds like a magically soothing day, I’d like one of those!

  3. August 19, 2008 5:46 AM

    greats photos. it’s awesome…

Trackbacks

  1. The Twelve: A 2008 Recap Meme « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.