Skip to content

A Room with a View

August 15, 2008

Today marks two weeks since I moved into my new apartment. This past week was the first time that it actually started to feel like “the place where I live” rather than the “place where all my stuff happens to be.” I wasn’t even here the first three days of living in my apartment, and then it was back to work, so it took slightly longer than usual to get adjusted.

I’m still getting used to my new schedule and my commute, which varies between walking to the train station and taking public transportation to driving to work and fighting not only traffic but also fighting to find a parking place. Tricky.

The Roommate and I are getting along, though I don’t see her very often because of our schedules. But hopefully we’ll get to hang out a bit more soon.

I’m enjoying it so far and it’s nice to live near so many great restaurants and boutiques. I’m only a block and a half away from the grocery store, and I finally purchased reusable grocery bags. I am a bad Oregonian. Please forgive me. It hasn’t been too terribly noisy either, though a few warm nights brought some ruckus. I’m sure it will quiet down when it gets a bit cooler.

But, of course, who could complain with this view:

The View

The Empire State Building, taken from my bedroom. It looks even cooler at night, when the top is lit up in, but unfortunately my camera isn’t a huge fan of nighttime pictures.

10 Comments
  1. August 15, 2008 3:30 PM

    That is ridiculously cool! Trees and skyscrapers. Thou art the idol of millions.

  2. August 15, 2008 3:33 PM

    Great sunset picture and I like the view. Hope you’re enjoying the new place!

  3. August 15, 2008 4:49 PM

    I keep saying I am going to quit my job and move to NYC for a year… I don’t think I’d ever be brave enough to do it though… health insurance and all.
    But I love the view! It’s beautiful.

  4. Corri permalink
    August 15, 2008 7:46 PM

    Stunning view! I’m glad that things are working out so nicely for you.

  5. August 15, 2008 11:30 PM

    I’m officially jealous!

  6. August 16, 2008 6:12 PM

    Oh, that sucks. I don’t know how you can live there…);-) Seriously cool. Your commute will shake out, I’m sure. Good luck and congrats!

  7. August 17, 2008 11:21 AM

    Hi, Allison! Thanks for posting a helpful comment on my little blog. Your comments were exactly right, and I appreciate them.

    Isn’t New York interesting? Both my sons have been living and working in Manhattan, and they love it. They’re both lacto-vegetarians, so they really enjoy the amazing variety of restaurant choices there. (As for me, I prefer the slower, quieter pace of a smaller community.)

    Thanks again for your good advice,

    Jim

  8. August 18, 2008 4:28 PM

    Oh, man, that’s gorgeous, Allison. So jealous.

    I told TCBIM that we are retiring to NYC. He wants someplace where he can play golf. I told him there were plenty of golf courses in and around the city. He’ll just have to suck it up.

  9. August 18, 2008 4:39 PM

    There’s a golf course in Montclair, which is about 10 miles from where I live.😀

Trackbacks

  1. Lots of Lemonade « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.