Skip to content

I Must Be The Only One.

August 12, 2008

First, I must preface this by saying I have never watched the Olympics swimming. I rarely watch the Olympics as it is and of the sports I do watch, in the summer it’s gymnastics and in the winter it’s ice skating. That’s it.

Because I’m a girl who knows other girls, I often hear people talking about this swimmer guy. Some of you may have heard of him too. His name is Michael Phelps.

Now, as amazing and earth-shatteringly unbelievable as this may sound, I honest to God had NO IDEA what Michael Phelps looked like. Okay, maybe I had seen, like, one picture of him, but that’s it. I told you, I don’t watch swimming. Ever.

That is, until today. This morning, I came in early to work and was skimming through my RSS Feeds. I checked in with a blogger I read, Ashley, who has dedicated her Mondays to shirtless men. This week, she featured the men of swimming including a few choice shots of Mr. Phelps.

And you know what?

I don’t get it.

I don’t see it. I must be the only girl in the WORLD who doesn’t find Michael Phelps all that attractive. I mean, okay, he’s cute and whatever. He’s not ugly by any means. He’s a swimmer, so he has a nice body. That’s a given. But the face? I’m kind of meh on it. I think some of the other boys in that last picture are much better looking than him.

Is it because he’s like a million-time winning Olympic gold medalist? Is he charming? Should I watch an interview with him and then cast my judgment?

Cuz going off of the picture, I gotta say, I’m not getting the Michael Phelps fever.

So there. I’ve said it. I’m not in love with Michael Phelps. I don’t want to have his babies. You can have him. I don’t mind.

(Please, please, for the love of all that is good and holy, do NOT write me hate e-mails or comments. I seriously don’t care. I just thought it would be amusing to see if there is anyone else out there who doesn’t get it either. Thanks.)

16 Comments
  1. August 12, 2008 11:05 AM

    It’s okay, Allison. I’m right there with you. I was equally unimpressed.

  2. August 12, 2008 11:30 AM

    Some people look better or worse once you get to know them.

  3. August 12, 2008 11:32 AM

    Allison,
    I, too, don’t find him terribly attractive. The body is nice, for sure. But his face isn’t my type🙂

  4. August 12, 2008 11:34 AM

    If you saw an interview it might add to his charm. In my opinion Michael Phelps is goofy cute, which is different from “hot”. Ryan Lochte (center, shirtless in the last picture) is the hottest guy on the US swim team though.

  5. August 12, 2008 12:29 PM

    Gotta tell you – he’s not doing it for me either. He’s certainly no John Zimmerman or Steven Cousins!! (It’s all about the skating for me.)

  6. August 12, 2008 1:57 PM

    Nah, he doesn’t do it for me either. I do love watching swimming but I don’t really find any swimming attractive. It’s something about the broadness of the shoulders against the narrowness of their middles. Or something about the absolute hairlessness…

    Anyay, you’re definitely not alone!

  7. August 12, 2008 5:47 PM

    OK – I have to say, he’s doing it for me! I agree with Jillian regarding the “Goofy” personality factor, which I am a huge fan of. I have always gone for the Goofy.
    I’m not a big “Model, Pretty Boy,” man fan. I like them funny and goofy!
    Plus, he’s got tremendous wing span – very important for swimmers and surfers.
    He’s got a tremendous body too. I’m just stating the obvious. He IS an athlete after all!
    k2 😉

  8. August 12, 2008 5:51 PM

    Naw, not gonna write you hate mail. I don’t really find him drop dead cute myself. He’s nice looking and all, but, like you, I’m not going to fall all over myself for him.🙂

  9. August 12, 2008 6:30 PM

    I’m with you – don’t get it, either.

  10. August 12, 2008 7:48 PM

    I’m kinda “meh” on him, though I’m sure he might be a fun guy. I knew a lot of nice, goofy swimmers in high school, but I didn’t necessarily think they were terribly sexy.

    And if they were, it was only from the neck down. LOL.

  11. August 12, 2008 8:35 PM

    Allison

    I have to agree. He doesn’t do it for me either.😉

    Though in his defense he does appear to be a good guy.

  12. August 13, 2008 6:47 PM

    Well, a recent study has shown (among other, less recent studies) that a mere photo of the male physique excites heterosexual women about as much as a photo of a landscape. In fact, a photo of a woman’s body is more likely to excite women. And anecdotally, I know that personally I don’t start going ga-ga over guys until I have some idea what they’re about as a person. So looking at pics of this dude, well, I think he’s a goofy looking guy who’s in great shape. Can’t really argue with that.

    Which explains why this heterosexual woman is much more interested in looking at Dara Torres. Now THAT’S a hot swimmer. (Here’s a link, scroll down on the page:)

    http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/29/magazine/29torres-t.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

  13. August 13, 2008 8:44 PM

    He isn’t gorgeous in the traditional sense but there’s something about him thats just so cute and adorable and total yum (outside of the amazing body). I’ve always liked athletes and their bodies, especially the leaner ones and the shoulders on Phelps and Lochte are amazing. Sigh. Obviously you know I like watching the olympics solely for the swimming team🙂

  14. August 15, 2008 8:50 AM

    Yeah, but swimmers are generally nice kids. Generally. Anyway, you gotta love the wingspan.

    Man, those suits are tight!

  15. August 15, 2008 2:30 PM

    There’s an interesting research opportunity here, regarding what people consider attractive and why. It certainly comes down to a matter of taste, right? But, if that’s the case, how do certain people get to wear the shiny, tinfoil party crown of “Hottest This-or-that”? The comments to your post prove that you’re not the only one, yet the epidemic continues.

    Personally, I’ve always been a fan of “unconventional beauty” and I think that brains, wit and charm can crank someone’s comeliness up to 11.

  16. SallieB permalink
    August 26, 2008 7:14 PM

    thank god someone else thinks that too! You are not alone! =]

Comments are closed.