Skip to content

We Came, We Saw, We Cut, We Conquered.*

July 29, 2008

Time for the CWD Friends for Life recap.

Short version: It was awesome.

Long version: Most of the time when I go to diabetes conferences I don’t really go to learn. Aside from the information overload you get during your first year or so of living with diabetes, it’s really hard to learn much that is “new” in diabetes. Besides, as someone who both writes and reads diabetes blogs, information about new technology, like CGMS and insulin pumps, and research is readily available to me.

So why did I go to a diabetes conference? Simple: for the people. In addition to the bloggers I’ve already met, I also had a chance to meet Manny, Sara, the “Other Allison” and Mandy. This also means I’ve officially reached meeting 10 new bloggers (actually, I’ve met 11) in just seven months! This isn’t even including Kevin and Jillian, who I am meeting on Monday.

It’s true what they say: going to CWD is like coming home. I am involved in several different communities and through it all, the diabetes community is the one that feels like family. It was a phrase that was used several times throughout the conference by all the staff. The people who were attending the conference were a part of our family.

I flew in Tuesday night and Mandy and her parents picked me up from the airport. After an exciting adventure in finding out hotel, we finally arrived and settled in as we had an early morning the next day. Wednesday was an unofficial conference day. Many people were there for the receptions and the focus groups, but the conference had not officially begun. I attended the Young Adults breakfast with Sara and Mandy where we discussed some great ideas for how to expand the conference to include young adults. It’s not quite the all-inclusive adults with diabetes sessions that I’m aiming for but it is a step in the right direction.

The conference itself was amazing and Jeff Hitchcock should have a full report of all the activities in a couple of weeks. I’ll post a link when I see it online so everyone can read the re-cap.

In addition to the two day conference, we (Sara, Mandy, Heidi, our new friends Alex and Beakal and ourself) also spent a day at Universal Studios. We went on all the rides and had lunch at the CWD’s buffet area in a closed off Latin Quarter. We escaped the clutches of Lord Farquaad, fought off aliens and survived a twister. We even had our picture taken with Shrek and Donkey.

With Shrek

One of the perks of going to a conference for people with diabetes is that they make all kinds of wonderful arrangements for you. This year, those of us who went to Universal Studios (or Islands of Adventure, which was the other option) received a Community Relations pass that allowed us to use the Express line which is usually reserved for people who are either handicapped or who pay extra. I have mentioned a few times about going to Guest Services and requesting a disability pass because standing out in the hot sun for several hours can damage insulin (which, for my new readers, you need to live). When I was in Orlando two years ago, I went with some of the other teens with diabetes to pick up these passes on our own, but this year they were included with our park tickets. However, rumor has it that Disney is getting very, very stringent about who they give these passes out to but I say it’s a fight worth fighting. Not only is it a legitimate reason (the July heat from the Orlando sun really can do serious damage), it’s also a nice perk. Considering everything I have to do to stay healthy as a type 1 diabetic, this is the least the universe can do to repay me.

P.S. Shout out to Dorothy, one of my faithful readers!
*Thanks to Sara Mandy for letting me steal this as the title for my post.

9 Comments
  1. July 29, 2008 10:59 AM

    It was great to finally meet you! Hope moving and everything goes well this week! Let me know about Monday and meeting up!🙂 The other Allison B

  2. Sara permalink
    July 29, 2008 12:40 PM

    And with all the ‘guacamole’ we have to deal with, it’s nice to have a perk once in a while right?😉

    P.S. Check out Shrek’s legs. What is up with that?

  3. July 29, 2008 1:38 PM

    It was a wonderful trip!

    BTW, it was the title came from me. LOL

  4. July 29, 2008 1:51 PM

    Mandy: Whoops! I fixed it in the text.

    Sara: I have no idea… they look like leggings.

    Allison: I will definitely let you know asap!

  5. type1emt permalink
    July 29, 2008 2:29 PM

    It was kick-butt awesome,(once again)see you at the Quilt for Life!

  6. July 29, 2008 2:31 PM

    I’m thinking about taking my 4yo next year if I can swing it. Especially since it will be at Disney. Are there a lot of young kids?

  7. July 29, 2008 2:52 PM

    Leeanthro: There are a TON of young kids. I think they said they had a couple hundred elementary school aged children, and they also have a pre-K and Kindergarten section as well. There is also a child care area if you have any other young children. I *highly* recommend it. The kids get suck a kick out of seeing others like them.

  8. July 29, 2008 4:11 PM

    Sounds like you had a great time! I’m really hoping to be able to take my son next year. I just found your blog (yes, through the Times) and I’m excited to have another D blog to read about.

Trackbacks

  1. Travel Bug. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.