Skip to content

Another Welcome Note.

July 28, 2008

I’m in the New York Times this week.

Okay, so most of you probably already know that already. The reason why I say “most” is because about 90% of my traffic right now are people coming to my blog from the hyperlink in the New York Times article. Hello New York Times readers!

The article is called Blogging’s Glass Ceiling and I was interviewed for it while I was at BlogHer in San Francisco. I had absolutely no expectation that I would be in the article. The woman who wrote it must have interviewed dozens of women, so I am pretty surprised to be included. I have a four-words-exactly quote, plus a sentence about me and my blog. Honestly, the author could have written “Allison Blass went to BlogHer” and that would have been enough for me. Having a quote in the New York Times makes it even better.

But having a hyperlink to your blog from the New York Times?

TOTALLY. FREAKING. AWESOME.

The response to the article has been a little unexpected, mostly due to the fact it’s in the Fashion & Style section. What’s a story about blogging doing in the Fashion & Style section? No clue. And like most articles about very important, complicated issues, it doesn’t tell the whole story. But while I was at the airport last night reading through all the different blog posts about this article (just google “BlogHer” and “New York Times” and you’ll find all of them), I thought about how many times diabetes has been misrepresented in the media as well (read: every. single. time).

I thought it was kind of amusing-slash-ironic-slash-horrible that my two most well-known characteristics – being a female blogger and a diabetic – are the two things that consistently misunderstood by, well, mostly everyone who isn’t a female blogger or diabetic.

Oh joy.

I commented on Erin Kotecki Vest’s post that I must be some kind of incomprehensible anomaly to have such difficulty in getting people to understand who I am, what I do and why I do it.

I suppose that’s why I blog. And why I’ll keep doing it.

Because God knows no one else can tell my story better than me.

Welcome to my life, where I try to make my lemons into (sugar-free) lemonade.

9 Comments
  1. dreamsofmist permalink
    July 28, 2008 4:17 PM

    hey! Remember that random stranger who posted on that random interview from a long time ago? well yeah, that’s me.

    congrats on being published in the NY times!!! That’s so amazing–even if it’s four words. :]

  2. July 28, 2008 5:39 PM

    I saw it – but figured the whole world was letting you know that you’re even “famouser!”

  3. July 28, 2008 6:21 PM

    dreamsofmist: I remember you! Thanks for commenting again and thanks!

    Colleen: Yes, I’ve had about twenty people tell me I’m in the New York Times but it’s always nice to see that people notice.🙂

  4. July 28, 2008 6:37 PM

    Wowsers Allison! Very cool! 🙂

  5. Lee Bell permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:25 PM

    You have to be doing something right. Your link was the only one I saw posted!

  6. Eunsil Song permalink
    July 29, 2008 11:08 PM

    Hello. This is from South Korea. As you mentioned already, while reading the article, I happended to be curious about your blog. So, I came here from the hyperlink. Anyway, its awesome!🙂

  7. July 30, 2008 8:25 AM

    Belated congratulations … I was on vacation, and had VERY limited access to the Internet (a refreshing change, I must admit!). Anyway, great reference! I always include copies of my quotes in The Wall Street Journal and Reuters with my resume!

  8. July 30, 2008 8:42 AM

    Scott J: Thanks!

    Lee: I noticed there weren’t very many hyperlinks… I was surprised mine was linked, but also very, very happy.

    Eunsil: Wow, South Korea! Very cool. Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you around.

    Scott: I definitely will include this. Thanks for the tip.

  9. katbur permalink
    July 31, 2008 12:42 PM

    WOW! Congratulations on the hyperlink. I wanted to let you know you are mentioned in Salon’s Broadsheet today as well.

Comments are closed.