Skip to content

A Blogging Birthday.

July 11, 2008

Tomorrow is my blogaversary.

I am writing this today, however, because tomorrow I’m going to be wandering around Beaver Brook Reservation in Massachusetts with a bunch of the coolest, craziest cats this side of cyberspace. Because I’m one of the 12 people in the world without an iPhone, I’m not able to post on my actual blogaversary.

As most of you know, I’ve been involved in the diabetes community since day one. My family participated in all the JDRF Walks to Cure Diabetes, I went to diabetes camp, I was a Children’s Congress delegate and I’ve been to conferences. I’ve done all the “in real life” stuff that you can do, but there is still something incredibly remarkable about blogging and how much I have seen this change not only my life, but the lives of everyone else involved in this community, whether they are a fellow blogger, a commenter or a lurker.

I’m involved in social media on a daily basis. I read blogs for a living. I see communities formed around everything from music to food to motherhood and everywhere in between. It’s amazing the trusting relationships that can form between complete strangers. The instant communication and the constant support that comes from reading and re-reading blogs, message boards or IMing someone I’ve never met (well, in my case, it’s more like “I’ve only met once”) is incredibly uplifting. I know some people have said that when there is a cure they will stop blogging. I don’t think I’ll ever stop blogging. Sure, I will stop writing about diabetes, but all of you have become a part of my life and have helped me in so many ways. You have been a part of my life, from my West Coast life to my East Coast life, from the good days to the bad days, sharing in my accomplishments and supporting me in my depression.

I wonder if the people who first blazed the blogging trail realize how much they have changed the lives of so many people.

To me, you are not just people with diabetes. You are not just my imaginary internet weirdo friends.

You are my friends, in every sense of the word. I can’t think of a better way to celebrate my three year blogaversary than at the First Annual New England Diabetes Meet-Up.

16 Comments
  1. July 11, 2008 10:40 AM

    Happy Blogiversary!

  2. July 11, 2008 12:37 PM

    Happy Blogiversary! Have fun in Beantown!

  3. July 11, 2008 12:55 PM

    Happy early Blogaversary!

  4. July 11, 2008 1:48 PM

    Happy Blogaversary!

  5. July 11, 2008 1:59 PM

    Happy Blogaversary! Here’s to another 3 years and more!

  6. July 11, 2008 6:17 PM

    See you tomorrow!

  7. July 11, 2008 9:14 PM

    Happy Blogversary!

  8. July 11, 2008 9:16 PM

    I’m glad you blog. Have a great blogaversary. You deserve it. People like you and Kerri are the reason I started blogging.
    Thanks for all you do!

  9. July 12, 2008 12:41 AM

    Hey that is a great cause. Who needs to blog on your bloag a.. blogas.. on that day your blogg is older. So congrats, I will read more posts to appreciate it more.

    yeah!

  10. July 12, 2008 1:59 AM

    Have a great time at your meet up – and Happy Blogiversary!!🙂

  11. Gayle permalink
    July 12, 2008 7:47 PM

    Awesomeness! Congrats!

  12. July 13, 2008 1:58 PM

    Allison

    Sorry I didn’t think to get a cake or something. It was great to see you coming across the field to our tables.

    Thanks for coming all the way to Boston and I hope the rest of your weekend is great. Keep us in mind for next year (a day shy of your 4-year blogaversary).

  13. July 13, 2008 9:48 PM

    We are lucky to have you around. Happy belated Blogaversary!!!!

    Can’t wait to read about the meet up.

  14. July 14, 2008 12:37 AM

    happy bversary.

    wish i could be there! maybe next year!

    keep on truckin….

    and bloggin….

  15. July 14, 2008 2:44 PM

    Happy blogiversary! Thank you for all that you dor for us and share with us. I too consider you a good friend, even though we’ve never met IRL (yet).

Trackbacks

  1. Lots of Lemonade « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.