Skip to content

A Postponement and an Addition

June 26, 2008

My parents and my younger brother are leaving for a week long cruise tomorrow. But I know I shouldn’t be to disappointed. This time next week, I’m supposed to be in England.

Except, I’m not going.

Turns out my plans with my friends didn’t end up going as planned, so I had to cancel my trip. But because I already purchased the tickets, I have more than $800 worth of Continental dollars to use towards another flight. While I contemplated using that to go somewhere cheaper, truth is, I really want to go to England. I purchased a guidebook and everything. So I’ve been giving it some thought and I have settled on the third week of September. This new change also gives me the opportunity to stay for longer, so I will be in England for eight days instead of four. I’m not traveling with anyone, which of course presents a whole new conundrum to this “traveling with diabetes” card I’ve been dealt. But I know plenty of people who have traveled by themselves with diabetes and lived to tell about it.

I’m confident I’ll be one of them.

I also discovered that while I’m there, the city of Bath will be holding their annual Jane Austen Festival and the city of York will be holding their annual Food and Wine Festival. I’m hoping to hit up at least one – if not both – of them. I’m hoping that my newfound independence will also give me the opportunity to meet some of our English blogger friends.

I’ve always wanted to travel somewhere exotic by myself. When I was younger, the idea of doing anything alone seemed impossible. Too dangerous, people said. But now that I’m older, more experienced and well-equipped with my insulin pump and worldwide network of friends, I feel confident that I can handle just about anything.

In addition (you knew this part was coming, right?), I’ve also added a new trip to my summer schedule. One of my clients at work, Picnik (you may have seen them as Flickr’s editing tool), is sponsoring this summer’s BlogHer conference in San Francisco. I’m going to help and to attend the conference and I’m really excited. I went to BlogHer last summer in Chicago and had a great time. I’m even more excited to go this year since I will actually know people when I get there!

The only flaw in this plan is the fact that I return from San Francisco on Sunday, July 20. Guess when I leave for CWD’s Friends for Life? Yeah. Tuesday, July 22.

Did I mention I’m moving? On August 1?

Yeah. Perhaps not my wisest plan.

Looks like moving England to September was in my favor after all!

10 Comments
  1. June 27, 2008 3:26 AM

    I’ve traveled various parts of Europe alone, with nary a single problem. London will be a piece of cake for you because everyone speaks English.

    Airport security in Europe is decidedly more lax than the U.S. (unless you’re flying *to* the U.S.) and I’ve never had my pump or supplies so much as second-glanced at.

    Eight days in London is kind of a long time. I spent a week there a few years ago and you can only walk through the National Gallery so many times. Plus, London is EXPENSIVE what with the exchange rate between the U.S. dollar and the pound. Why London? Go somewhere interesting with a more favorable exchange rate … I spent last weekend in Prague, Czech Republic and Jelenia Gora, Poland (I live in Germany right now, back to Seattle soon) and including the rental car probably spent less for the weekend in two countries than you’ll spend in a day in London.

    You should check out skyscanner.net which tells you the cheapest flights out of your destination across Europe, usually on RyanAir or EasyJet. You can get some really cheap flights out of London to random places (when I was there I went to Budapest, Athens, and Brussels) and all the London airports are accessible via public transportation.

    Also: screw the guidebooks and just explore. Way more fun🙂

  2. June 27, 2008 8:36 AM

    Marina: London was the original plan, because I was going to visit my friends. Now that I’m not going to see them, I thought about going somewhere else, but I also started to really look forward to going to England, so I want to stick to the original plan. I’ll probably only end up being in London for about 3 or 4 days. The rest of the time I will be traveling around England and I’ve thought about going to Amsterdam for a couple of days as well. Trust me, I will not be spending all 8 days in London but at the same time, I’ve always wanted to go there and I think it will be a good first trip on my own, since as you said, everyone speaks English.

  3. Betty Jackson permalink
    June 27, 2008 9:46 PM

    I test before and after because at night my bg can drop drastically within the half hour.

  4. June 28, 2008 8:42 AM

    I (currently) have no plans in the third week of September… Drop me an email if you like.

    You can call me biased, since I’m a Londoner through and through, but I have to disagree with eight days being “kind of a long time”. Eight days is no where near enough to even scratch the surface of this city! I’ve been in the thick of it for ten years and just outside for my whole life and I still can’t claim to have seen so much of what is on offer. That said, I certainly wouldn’t discourage you from travelling elsewhere too. Bath (and nearby Bristol) is beautiful, as is York. Oxford is a great place to visit too. And if you want to skip over the channel, you could look in to Eurostar, which is infinitely more pleasant than flying. If you need advice on public transport, don’t hesitate to ask!

  5. June 28, 2008 9:37 PM

    Caro: I agree! London does seem jampacked with lots of fun things to do. I suppose it’s a bit like NYC. I feel like most people could see the major highlights of NYC in 4 days, but of course, even people who live here their whole lives never see everything. I’m not sure if I’m going to leave England, it really depends. I’m contemplating Paris just because I know that train can get you there quickly, but it’s not cheap. I will definitely keep you posted on my visit!

  6. kate permalink
    June 29, 2008 10:33 PM

    im from englANd, its a nice place

  7. June 29, 2008 10:48 PM

    Wow you are going to be so busy. And you’re going to have a such a great time! Can’t wait to meet everyone at BlogHer, and I’ll expect lots of England pics when you get back.

  8. July 1, 2008 9:43 AM

    Allison

    You could also jump across the Irish Sea and visit Dublin. Now that’s a real city.🙂

  9. July 1, 2008 12:41 PM

    Bernard: I did give some real thought to going to Ireland, but I think that I want to Ireland on a separate trip so I do it justice.🙂 I think I’ll probably end up staying put in England. I’m sure there’s enough to fill up 8 days.

  10. Tara permalink
    July 15, 2008 2:09 PM

    Oh my gosh, a Jane Austen festival?? I am so jealous, Allison! You are going to have a fantastic time.

Comments are closed.