Skip to content

Get to Know The Other Me

May 16, 2008

I don’t talk about my “real job” very much on this blog, and by “real” I mean the one that gives me a salary, a 401k and full benefits. I very much consider diabetes advocacy as my job, but I get paid only for specific jobs, and it doesn’t have any of those necessary perks like health insurance.

Earlier this week I conducted my first non-diabetes interview for a blog about public relations and social media called Social Media Explorer. The interview is about my double life: one as a PR professional who pitches bloggers, and the other as a blogger who gets pitched by PR professionals.

The interview does touch on my life with diabetes, but not in the typical fashion where I talk about finger pricks and insulin pumps and low blood sugars. This interview is more about our community and how as a blogger who happens to write about diabetes, I feel about being pitched and some of the tactics that PR professionals are starting to take in order to build relationships with bloggers. I hope you’ll check it out. Also, if you have been emailed by PR people, I invite you to share your thoughts about what they do and don’t do well. I often feel that I am in an echo chamber of proper blogger relations, so it would be great to hear from a new audience of bloggers who may not have had a chance to share their opinions on being pitched to promote a product or event on their blog.

Edit: Hello to all the new people coming from Social Media Explorer! Welcome, welcome.

I joked that I am like Superman, which is why the picture of me with Superman is featured. Now if only I had a cape…

6 Comments
  1. Sara permalink
    May 16, 2008 10:44 AM

    Nice interview.

    This is my favorite line: Of course I would pitch me! I’m awesome!

  2. May 16, 2008 10:59 AM

    Very cool.

  3. May 16, 2008 11:14 AM

    Yes – very cool!

  4. May 16, 2008 1:28 PM

    Great job Allison! I learned a lot reading the interview.

  5. May 16, 2008 2:18 PM

    hmmm… excellent interview. This gives me plenty to ponder about. Haha… now you got me second-guessing everything I’ve done around here. Thanks =P

    There’s definitely a finer line between genuine participation and unwelcomed commenting than most outsiders don’t realize.

  6. May 16, 2008 4:06 PM

    Great job, I think you were definitely able to get your point across.

Comments are closed.