Skip to content

Merry Month of May.

May 1, 2008


I love May.

Ever since I can remember, May has been one of my favorite months. It’s the month where the cold weather streak snaps (supposedly) and at least in Oregon, it’s the time when our marathon weeks of overcast skies and rain slow down and become more sporadic. May is more relaxed and being the last month before school got out, most of us were more comfortable slacking off a little bit more. We spent more time hanging out on the back porch of our favorite coffeeshop in Eugene, Espresso Roma, where everyone liked to congregate between classes to drink coffee, play chess and chat.

Of course, now that I’m a big person, there’s no summer break for me but I’m still enjoying seeing more sunny days and warmer weather. I would appreciate it even more if Mother Nature cooperated and quit with the rain completely, but I’ll take what I can get.

May looks to be a pretty good month so far. This weekend, Jon Schlaman, co-founder of Diabetes Talkfest is in town, so I’m heading into the city to play tour guide for awhile. Next week is JDRF’s Spring for a Cure fundraiser, which is the first JDRF event that I’ve actually paid to attend, believe it or not. I actually felt quite grown-up being able to afford the $100 entrance fee without having to rely on my back-up plan of volunteering for registration and then quietly sneaking away to enjoy the party. Later in the month are dinners with friends and of course, our first summer meet-up in Delaware (email for details).

All of this leads up to the grand finale which is I’M GOING HOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My younger brother is graduating from high school on June 6th. :: sniff sniff :: My little baby’s all growed up… Anyway. I’m flying to Oregon on May 31 which gives me a full week in Oregon. I’m actually working remotely from home, as I am speaking to a few public relations classes at my alma mater, the University of Oregon. I’m not entirely sure how I convinced them I’m qualified to mold young minds, but apparently they’ve given me the power so I’m taking it!

I think it’s safe to say that it’s going to be a good month.

Beautiful Oregon

This photo was actually taken in October, but with all the evergreen trees we have, there isn’t much of a difference between summer and winter in most parts of Oregon.

3 Comments
  1. May 1, 2008 4:34 PM

    i love that picture, it’s so beautiful🙂

  2. May 1, 2008 7:48 PM

    Hi,
    Two of us were singing “The Merry Month of May” today in my office. I laughed when I read your subject line!

  3. May 5, 2008 2:20 PM

    Allison

    “In the merry month of May” is the start of the song Rocky Road to Dublin.

    It’s an upbeat number, completely in keeping with your exciting news.

Comments are closed.